A couple of things I recall, hazily.
I thought this scenario was an ASA clarifications scenario.
An illegal pitch is a delayed dead ball, but leaving early is an immediate "no pitch", so if a batter contacts the ball if pitched, I'd say we have nothing.
My thinking is that the no pitch would take precedence over the DDB, so in the case that there were 2 outs, no need to award a ball to the batter or move any other runners. Three outs, inning over.
Gotta look for that rules & clarifications page.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
|