View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 15, 2011, 08:49am
Tru_in_Blu Tru_in_Blu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Both the ASA Rule Clarification & Play and the NFHS Case 8.6.21 do not specify the number of outs. I think that w/ less than 2 outs, a runner from 3B would score and no one seems to disagree with that. With 2 outs, it's not so clear.

Here's the NFHS case:

RUNNER LEAVES BASE EARLY
8.6.21 SITUATION: With R1 on third base and R2 on first base, F1 double
touches for an illegal pitch. The plate umpire calls an illegal pitch but before the hands separate to deliver the ball, R2 leaves first base on her way to second base.
The base umpire calls "dead ball" and calls R2 out. RULING: R2 is out for leaving first base before F1 released the ball. The illegal pitch is enforced which results in a "ball" awarded to B3 and one base (home) to R1. (6-1-2)


The ruling above deals w/ R2 being out before the illegal pitch penalty is enforced. So if that's the case, with 2 outs to start, the LBE results in the 3rd out. After that, can bases be awarded and a ball be added to the batter's count?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote