The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2010, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I interpret this to mean that when the ball is live, the appeal must be made before the runner returns to the base.

And, of course, if the ball is dead, we allow the runner to complete running responsibilities. So, if the runner returns during the dead ball (and prior to touching the first awarded base), then there can be no appeal.

BUT, your play has a dead ball (so the quoted phrase does not apply) and the runner does not return; so the appeal can be allowed as a dead ball appeal, after the runner stops (indicating no further running intended).
I agree with Steve. As long as there was no reason that the runner could have used the white bag (F3 being pulled into foul territory, and the runner trying to avoid contact), I would honor the appeal if the runner did not retouch first. I'm going to get hell for it, but I will honor it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Base Question Dholloway1962 Softball 6 Thu Aug 16, 2007 07:51am
double base type question Little Jimmy Softball 10 Tue May 04, 2004 08:53am
Another double base question... KSBlue Softball 3 Tue Jun 10, 2003 02:44pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
double base question shipwreck Softball 18 Wed Aug 29, 2001 09:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1