The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 05:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Had a play tonight in the State 14U Championship game.

Runners on 1st & 2nd, B4 strikes out and in disgust swings the bat downward striking the ball which was dropped by F2. Runners advanced one base and B4 headed to the dugout.

As one of the three umpires involved in the meeting after coach questions "play", what are you thinking and saying?
OK, I'll take a stab (w/o the books which are still in the car) to get the conversation/debate rolling:

I'm assuming by the description of the sitch, that B4 did not swing at the 3rd strike and that it was a called 3rd strike by the PU.

I don't see how the runners can be allowed to advance. Offensive player (B4) did something wrong in "striking the ball which was dropped by F2."

At the very least, dead ball and the runners return to 2B and 1B.

However, as the ball that F2 dropped was a live ball, and B4 stuck it with her bat AFTER she was called out, do we not have interference on B4 after being put out, and as such, the runner nearest home is also called out?

Irish, interesting sitch to be sure. Curious to hear everyone else's opinion and the definitive correct ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 06:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
However, as the ball that F2 dropped was a live ball, and B4 stuck it with her bat AFTER she was called out, do we not have interference on B4 after being put out, and as such, the runner nearest home is also called out?
The batter could not be called out before hittiing the ball as it was an U3K, so "stuck it with her bat AFTER she was called out" is not the case.
I think I would have ruled batter-runner interference, dead ball, BR out, no runners advance.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
The batter could not be called out before hittiing the ball as it was an U3K, so "stuck it with her bat AFTER she was called out" is not the case.
I think I would have ruled batter-runner interference, dead ball, BR out, no runners advance.
If runners advance, not two outs; and first base was occupied. So batter is out, never became a batter-runner.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
If runners advance, not two outs; and first base was occupied. So batter is out, never became a batter-runner.
Yeah, the OP doesn't say outs, so "B4 headed to dugout" is ambiguous. But does "Runners advanced" mean legally?
If not 2 outs, B4 is out on the K. But did she interfere with the catcher getting another out?
If INT, then KJump's "interference on B4 after being put out, and as such, the runner nearest home is also called out" would apply.
But then is B4 treated as a retired runner?

Looks like a good reason for 3 umpires.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
what are you thinking and saying?
I'm thinking I need a beer.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC View Post
I'm thinking I need a beer.
My thoughts, exactly!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
The batter could not be called out before hittiing the ball as it was an U3K, so "stuck it with her bat AFTER she was called out" is not the case.
I think I would have ruled batter-runner interference, dead ball, BR out, no runners advance.
Based on the description in the OP, I took it as AtlUmp Steve did...that it was not a dropped 3K sitch.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Based on the description in the OP, I took it as AtlUmp Steve did...that it was not a dropped 3K sitch.
You may also have noted, "B4" was the batter with two runners on

As stated, the batter is out. Doesn't make any difference if she was swinging or not. The batter is not eligible to advance to 1B since it was occupied at the time of the pitch.

You cannot rule that the BR interfered with a D3K since neither existed in this case.

Best case scenario, rule the ball dead as a blocked ball and return the runners if, IYJ, there was no play to be had by the catcher.

Worst case scenario, enforce 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home out (rule only requires the possibility of a play, not an out) and return the trailing runner to the base last touched at the time of the interference.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 07:04pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
We're doing dinner and a movie at the Alamo draft house. I just ordered a St. Arnold, will report back after I've tried it.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
We're doing dinner and a movie at the Alamo draft house. I just ordered a St. Arnold, will report back after I've tried it.
Which St. Arnold? They have several brews.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
You may also have noted, "B4" was the batter with two runners on

As stated, the batter is out. Doesn't make any difference if she was swinging or not. The batter is not eligible to advance to 1B since it was occupied at the time of the pitch.

You cannot rule that the BR interfered with a D3K since neither existed in this case.

Best case scenario, rule the ball dead as a blocked ball and return the runners if, IYJ, there was no play to be had by the catcher.

Worst case scenario, enforce 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home out (rule only requires the possibility of a play, not an out) and return the trailing runner to the base last touched at the time of the interference.
Seems like the only important question here is who is buying the beer.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
You may also have noted, "B4" was the batter with two runners on

As stated, the batter is out. Doesn't make any difference if she was swinging or not. The batter is not eligible to advance to 1B since it was occupied at the time of the pitch.

You cannot rule that the BR interfered with a D3K since neither existed in this case.

Best case scenario, rule the ball dead as a blocked ball and return the runners if, IYJ, there was no play to be had by the catcher.

Worst case scenario, enforce 8.7.P and call the runner closest to home out (rule only requires the possibility of a play, not an out) and return the trailing runner to the base last touched at the time of the interference.
Irish,
Both scenarios make sense.
Curious....how did the three of you rule in that 14U game where this play occurred....the best case scenario or the worst case scenario?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 254
Send a message via Yahoo to umpirebob71
Myself, I'm a Sam Adams Cherry Wheat fan.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 10:41pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Which St. Arnold? They have several brews.
Sorry...Amber Ale. Honestly, I was a little disappointed.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 27, 2010, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpirebob71 View Post
Myself, I'm a Sam Adams Cherry Wheat fan.
Tried it as an entrant in our annual family reunion beer-tasting. It was ruled "cough syrup" and scored low.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When you cant get "anything right" in beer league... wadeintothem Softball 2 Thu Jun 28, 2007 09:27am
Beer and Slow Pitch Justme Softball 9 Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:44am
Mick's huh Thread {worthy of separate thread} Stat-Man Basketball 1 Sun Nov 07, 2004 06:28pm
assignor buys the beer!!!!! chris s Baseball 0 Mon May 26, 2003 06:59pm
Brown Pop -VS- Beer prefered after game? BlackFox40 Basketball 50 Tue Mar 11, 2003 10:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1