![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sitch: R1 on 2nd, B2 hits a short single to left and R1 is obstructed going to third (protected to third). The throw is made to SS where the runner is tagged out just before B2 gets to first. In the rules this is a dead ball and we award the base we believe the runner would have been safe at had the play continued. (Nothing to do with the result of the obstruction). In your mind, we should let that play continue. But what do you do with R1. Suppose she is tagged, gets up and runs to 3rd. B2 has rounded the bag and the throw to pick her off goes into shallow right field. R1 decides to go home on this action in a) the fielder having seen her tagged out throws to 1st. in b) the fielder decides to throw home and as a result B2 gets 2nd. What are you going to do? Just call it the way the rules read, when an obstructed runner is put out it is an immediate dead ball; the obstructed runner is awarded the protected base and all other runners are awarded the base they would have achieved if the ball had not been called dead. If the obstructed runner is not put out, the ball remains live. Yes, the defense is more likely to get an out while the ball is live so it is to their advantage in most cases not to retire an obstructed runner, but that's way past most softball players. ________ Ocean View Condominiums Pattaya Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:17pm. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Question on ASA Obstruction Award Procedure | WestMichBlue | Softball | 17 | Tue Jul 10, 2007 09:11am |
| Obstruction award? | bigsig | Softball | 3 | Tue Apr 24, 2007 09:54am |
| How do you award bases to the runner? | spots101 | Baseball | 13 | Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am |
| Obstruction -- always a base award ?? | 18597 | Softball | 10 | Wed May 08, 2002 10:07pm |
| obstruction - award a base? | peter_s_n | Baseball | 12 | Sun Jul 01, 2001 10:39pm |