The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 01, 2010, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
I cited the case book plays above: 8.4.3, Sit C ... no mention of immediate dead ball, and base award is "at the end of playing action." Not "end of playing action on the obstructed runner", as you would have it, but the end of playing action period. If runners are still moving on the bases, playing action is continuing.

More specifically, the comment to 5.1.2 reads:
"What is meant by 'delayed dead ball'? The term applies to situations in which an infraction is not to be ignored and, therefore, the umpire, at the end of playing action, declares the ball dead for the purpose of making an award or imposing a penalty. These sisutations include ... runner being obstructed."

Someone else mentioned 8.4.3, Sit A, which mentions calling time "at the end of playing action or when the obstructed runner is put out." [Note, if "whichever comes first" is implied, it's not stated.] But that Sit involves something different than the original post & relates to a different subsection of the rule involving a runner being obstructed by another fielder other than the one in possession of the ball.

And with all due respect, you keep trying to add "immediate" to the dead ball call in the rule. It's not in the rule. Following the timiing specified in comments, there would be no immediate dead ball on obstruction. It would be a delayed dead ball, at the end of playing action. That way, the dead ball timing would be the same, whether or not the obstructed runner was tagged. That would lessen confusion, not increase it. (And for what it's worth, it would make umpires' jobs easier: no
need to look for a meaningless tag after obstruction. Instead, they could focus on the continuing action on the basepaths.)

Call it lawyering if you want. I call it reading the casebook as we're repeatedly told to do & trying to do what it says in the absence of any specificity in the rule about when to call dead ball.

And, by the way, your prior post does not given an ex. of how an obstructed runner can be "put out" other than being tagged.

Last edited by blueit; Thu Apr 01, 2010 at 02:19pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on ASA Obstruction Award Procedure WestMichBlue Softball 17 Tue Jul 10, 2007 09:11am
Obstruction award? bigsig Softball 3 Tue Apr 24, 2007 09:54am
How do you award bases to the runner? spots101 Baseball 13 Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am
Obstruction -- always a base award ?? 18597 Softball 10 Wed May 08, 2002 10:07pm
obstruction - award a base? peter_s_n Baseball 12 Sun Jul 01, 2001 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1