The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2007, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
Obstruction award?

Situation: R1 on 1B, 2 outs
Ball hit sharply to SS who fields ball and quickly steps on 2B for the force out.
R1, on the way to 2B collides with F4, obvious obstruction.
Questions:
1. R1 by rule can not be called out between 1B and 2B
2. In my judgment, R1 could not have made it safely to 2B, so do I put
R1 back on 1B?
3. If so, what do I do with the BR?
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2007, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig
Situation: R1 on 1B, 2 outs
Ball hit sharply to SS who fields ball and quickly steps on 2B for the force out.
R1, on the way to 2B collides with F4, obvious obstruction.
Questions:
1. R1 by rule can not be called out between 1B and 2B
2. In my judgment, R1 could not have made it safely to 2B, so do I put
R1 back on 1B?
3. If so, what do I do with the BR?
1. Correct.

2. Normally, yes. However, see three for the "rest of the story.."

3. Since R1 was OBS, and you have to do something with the BR. In this case, the correct call would be dead ball, put the BR on first, and advance any other runners who are forced. Therefore, the OBS runner, who you felt wouldn't have made second, will be put on second anyway, since she cannot occupy first any longer.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2007, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig
Ball hit sharply to SS who fields ball and quickly steps on 2B for the force out.
R1, on the way to 2B collides with F4, obvious obstruction.
I have one question ... by the order of these sentences, did you mean to imply that the fielder touched 2nd BEFORE R1 collided with F4? If so, you simply have an out. If that was not what you meant to imply, Scott's answer is dead on.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
The contact occured just before the force. Thanks for your help guys!
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Base Award? BigUmp56 Baseball 46 Wed Feb 22, 2006 02:27pm
award bases RadDad2005 Softball 9 Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:45am
What is the Award? Rick Vietti Softball 23 Sat Aug 16, 2003 08:41am
Obstruction -- always a base award ?? 18597 Softball 10 Wed May 08, 2002 10:07pm
obstruction - award a base? peter_s_n Baseball 12 Sun Jul 01, 2001 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1