The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
One concept you need to grasp is the obstruction rule is not intended to be punative, but rather restorative.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
One concept you need to grasp is the obstruction rule is not intended to be punative, but rather restorative.
I understand, but if the situation is to be restored to what would've happened without the obstruction, why do runners unaffected by the obstruction get awarded bases? That doesn't fit the concept.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueit View Post
I understand, but if the situation is to be restored to what would've happened without the obstruction, why do runners unaffected by the obstruction get awarded bases? That doesn't fit the concept.
They don't.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
But that's what's been suggested above. Umpire should award a base (a "more than halfway" rule of thumb was suggested) to a runner who hasn't been affected by the obstruction. The runner was rounding 2B when the obs. occurred at home plate.

Or in the 8.4.3 Sit A example, the runner between 1B & 2B wasn't affected by the obstruction occurring at SS. Yet is she awarded 2B? (She can't be put on 1B, where the batter is.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueit View Post
But that's what's been suggested above. Umpire should award a base (a "more than halfway" rule of thumb was suggested) to a runner who hasn't been affected by the obstruction. The runner was rounding 2B when the obs. occurred at home plate.

Or in the 8.4.3 Sit A example, the runner between 1B & 2B wasn't affected by the obstruction occurring at SS. Yet is she awarded 2B? (She can't be put on 1B, where the batter is.)
When an obstructed runner is put out, the ball is dead and this makes more sense then you're giving credit for.
Sitch: R1 on 2nd, B2 hits a short single to left and R1 is obstructed going to third (protected to third). The throw is made to SS where the runner is tagged out just before B2 gets to first.

In the rules this is a dead ball and we award the base we believe the runner would have been safe at had the play continued. (Nothing to do with the result of the obstruction).

In your mind, we should let that play continue. But what do you do with R1. Suppose she is tagged, gets up and runs to 3rd. B2 has rounded the bag and the throw to pick her off goes into shallow right field. R1 decides to go home on this action in a) the fielder having seen her tagged out throws to 1st. in b) the fielder decides to throw home and as a result B2 gets 2nd.
What are you going to do?

Just call it the way the rules read, when an obstructed runner is put out it is an immediate dead ball; the obstructed runner is awarded the protected base and all other runners are awarded the base they would have achieved if the ball had not been called dead. If the obstructed runner is not put out, the ball remains live.

Yes, the defense is more likely to get an out while the ball is live so it is to their advantage in most cases not to retire an obstructed runner, but that's way past most softball players.
________
Ocean View Condominiums Pattaya

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueit View Post
But that's what's been suggested above. Umpire should award a base (a "more than halfway" rule of thumb was suggested) to a runner who hasn't been affected by the obstruction. The runner was rounding 2B when the obs. occurred at home plate.

Or in the 8.4.3 Sit A example, the runner between 1B & 2B wasn't affected by the obstruction occurring at SS. Yet is she awarded 2B? (She can't be put on 1B, where the batter is.)
As above, the timing of the OBS has nothing to do with the placement of other runners. Because time out is required on an apparent putout (the non-out above) of an obstructed runner, we must do something with the other runners. In the OP, the runner can't be left standing between 2nd and 3rd, or in the case, left standing between 1st and 2nd.

Rule 8.4.3,b penalty A defines when the dead ball / time out is called. Besides any other runners affected by the OBS, placement of additional runners is a judgement. No advancement on their own can occur with time out or a dead ball. The other runner(s) are not "awarded" bases, they are placed on a base because they have to be on one or the other.

Whether the time out makes sense to you is not the point, it is the prescribed procedure; so we are stuck with the result.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2010, 07:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueit View Post
But that's what's been suggested above. Umpire should award a base (a "more than halfway" rule of thumb was suggested) to a runner who hasn't been affected by the obstruction. The runner was rounding 2B when the obs. occurred at home plate.

Or in the 8.4.3 Sit A example, the runner between 1B & 2B wasn't affected by the obstruction occurring at SS. Yet is she awarded 2B? (She can't be put on 1B, where the batter is.)
No, the umpire is actually allowing the runner to complete the runner task, but if you want to call it an award, that's fine.

Now, if you need justification, you can "award" that runner 3B because s/he was indeed affected by the OBS. How, you ask? Simple since the dead ball ruling is dictated by the rule, the OBS call kept that runner from reaching the base s/he would have reached had the OBS not occurred. Of course, you could "judge" that the runner would not have reasonably reached 3B safely and leave him/her at 2B.

Cannot do anything more for you. It IS the way it is in all games of which I am aware.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on ASA Obstruction Award Procedure WestMichBlue Softball 17 Tue Jul 10, 2007 09:11am
Obstruction award? bigsig Softball 3 Tue Apr 24, 2007 09:54am
How do you award bases to the runner? spots101 Baseball 13 Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am
Obstruction -- always a base award ?? 18597 Softball 10 Wed May 08, 2002 10:07pm
obstruction - award a base? peter_s_n Baseball 12 Sun Jul 01, 2001 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1