The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2010, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
True but

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
How did R3 interfere? Was R3 already out at the time of the INT? This is important as that would take the BR out of the equation.
True. In this scenario R3 was not out on the interference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If you want to be technical, B4 becomes a runner the moment you kill the ball on the INT call. You cannot send the BR back to the B position, so you must award the BR 1B which, by rule definition, makes that player a runner.
Based on what rule or definition? By definition the batter-runner stay a batter-runner until they reach first base, at which time they become a runner, or they have been retired. It is true you can't send the BR back to the batter position, but that is not our only option. Whenever we have interference and the BR is not called out we place them on 1st base. So we don't have to send them back to bat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If you don't believe part of the play included completing a play on the BR, than I don't believe you can apply 8.7.J.Effect.
I don't agree. The rule says a double play not a play on the BR. The defense could be trying to turn a 4-2-5 double play. We can't assume that the double play includes a play at 1st. I would agree if you said we could not apply 8-2-K if no play at 1st was anticipated. This rule clearly stays "an attempt to complete the play on the batter-runner". What makes 8-7-J Effect not applicable is that the only additional out we can get is the trailing runner. The BR has not become a runner at this time, so we can't get them out. And since the BR is not a runner, there is no trailing runner. So 8-7-J Effect doesn't apply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No and yes. See above.
So, they way I see it, if R3, prior to being declared out, interferes with F4 and there was no play on the BR at 1b, then we can only get 1 out. 8-2-K does not apply because there was no attempt to complete the play on the batter runner. 8-7-J Effect does not apply because the BR is not a Runner.

I definitely see a hole in the rule. Maybe that's not the intent, but by the strictest definition of the terms runner and batter-runner and then applying those terms to rules 8-2-K and 8-7-J Effect, we definitely can't get two outs on the offered play.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by rwest; Sun Feb 28, 2010 at 12:17am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Baseball's Black Hole - Terminal Velocity SAump Baseball 27 Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:06am
Batters dig themselves a Hole! rngrck Baseball 16 Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:39pm
2nd Base tagged with glove while hole ball in hand timharris Baseball 14 Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:43pm
Maybe the biggest a-hole in the history of youth sports... Raymond Basketball 14 Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:54pm
Starting out in the hole............. piaa_ump Baseball 21 Tue Nov 29, 2005 06:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1