|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Is there a hole in 8-7-J
			 
			
			Situation: Bases loaded. R1 on 3rd; R2 on 2nd; R3 on 1st. B4 hits a ground ball to F4. R3 intentionally interferes with F4 and in the opinion of the umpire was done to prevent a double play. Based on 8-7-J the umpire is supposed to rule the trailing runner out. However, we don't have a trailing runner, we have a trailing batter-runner. So you can't use 8-7-J to get B4 out. Not if we are literally interpreting the word "runner" as defined in rule 1. I don't believe we can use 8-2-K if we don't believe they are attempting to "complete the play on the batter-runner". In this case if F4 appears to be going home for the force out, 8-2-K doesn't apply. So is there a hole in 8-7-J? Can we get two outs on this play and if so, what rule are you using? 
				__________________ Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Baseball's Black Hole - Terminal Velocity | SAump | Baseball | 27 | Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:06am | 
| Batters dig themselves a Hole! | rngrck | Baseball | 16 | Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:39pm | 
| 2nd Base tagged with glove while hole ball in hand | timharris | Baseball | 14 | Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:43pm | 
| Maybe the biggest a-hole in the history of youth sports... | Raymond | Basketball | 14 | Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:54pm | 
| Starting out in the hole............. | piaa_ump | Baseball | 21 | Tue Nov 29, 2005 06:14pm |