![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne "F3 is not expected to chase B2". If so, that could change the outcome. Where is it written? In the case book ruling on abandoning a base. I didn't check 8-6, so didn't see that, but it does not seem abandoning to me. -------------------------------------------------------------- Quote: ABANDONING A BASE 8.6.22 SITUATION A: B1 reaches first safely. In her overrun, she breaks for second and then "gives up" far away from the baseline. RULING: If B1 is attempting to reach a base, she must be tagged out, but the fielder is not expected to chase her into the outfield. In the outlined case, B1 is out for giving up. (8-4-2; 8-6-2) This case play does not apply. The runner is not "far away from the baseline", so there is no ruling of abandoning the attempt to reach a base. Agree, does not apply, so doesn't that mean the fielder has to apply a tag, chasing if needed. ------------------------------------------------------------ Besides, this, also, is not an appeal. It is a live ball appeal if the fielder does apply a tag before the runner reaches a base.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
B-R turn at 1B | tcannizzo | Softball | 6 | Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:03pm |
I guess it was my turn. | Rich | Basketball | 18 | Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:43pm |
Everyone Turn On PMs | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 9 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm |
OK...my turn | Bob M. | Football | 22 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:57am |
My turn!!! | Suppref | Basketball | 4 | Fri Mar 02, 2001 06:37pm |