The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
...I got a runner past first base, and a fielder appearing to make a live ball appeal. In my umpiring mind the only thing I can see is that the fielder is making a live ball appeal of the runner missing first base, or touching the incorrect part of first base. That's the only thing I can think of to rule on an appeal in this situation. So what if we signal safe and say "They touched the base", or something along those lines...
The so-called appeal was not for missing the base:
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump View Post
...F3 while holding the ball steps on 1B and appeals that F3 has made an attempt for second....
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
The so-called appeal was not for missing the base:
I get that but I am questioning how we knew that is what they were appealing for? Did the F3 say "Mr. Umpire I believe that the runner is obligated to 2nd base thus I am appealing that they should be out since they are off the base and I am holding the ball on the base they should have to return to."?? I guess I don't know how to answer an appeal that really isn't an appealable play during a live ball, thus my answer that I interpert the appeal to be a missed base, or wrong base contacted and I ruled on that appeal since that is the only legit appeal that could be made at that time. Again not sure that is what I would do in a game.....but one way to handle it!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
I get that but I am questioning how we knew that is what they were appealing for? Did the F3 say "Mr. Umpire I believe that the runner is obligated to 2nd base thus I am appealing that they should be out since they are off the base and I am holding the ball on the base they should have to return to."?? I guess I don't know how to answer an appeal that really isn't an appealable play during a live ball, thus my answer that I interpert the appeal to be a missed base, or wrong base contacted and I ruled on that appeal since that is the only legit appeal that could be made at that time. Again not sure that is what I would do in a game.....but one way to handle it!
I was just going by what the OP said...
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
I get that but I am questioning how we knew that is what they were appealing for? Did the F3 say "Mr. Umpire I believe that the runner is obligated to 2nd base thus I am appealing that they should be out since they are off the base and I am holding the ball on the base they should have to return to."?? I guess I don't know how to answer an appeal that really isn't an appealable play during a live ball, thus my answer that I interpert the appeal to be a missed base, or wrong base contacted and I ruled on that appeal since that is the only legit appeal that could be made at that time. Again not sure that is what I would do in a game.....but one way to handle it!
Dave,

The counter argument is, "Mr. Umpire, am I prohibited from attempting to advance? If not, and I have already met the requirement to touch 1B prior to being put out, what is there to appeal? I simply attempted to advance to 2B and changed my mind. Is there a rule prohibiting a runner from changing their mind while someone is holding the ball other than the pitcher within the confines of the circle? Again, Mr. Umpire, what is there to appeal?"

Under the supposition that this may be a legitimate appeal, a runner who rounded 1B toward 2B could be retired simply by throwing the ball to a defender touching 1B and saying, "Mr. Umpire, I am appealing the runner attempting to advance to 2B". I would love to see any umpire rule the out on appeal as the runner is strolling safely into 2B.

You can take all the garbage that has been piled on this, but when it comes down to it, the "appeal" presented in the OP was not a legitimate appeal and there is nothing on which to rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 09:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Question Extending the premise

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
when it comes down to it, the "appeal" presented in the OP was not a legitimate appeal and there is nothing on which to rule.
Does that mean any improperly presented appeal does not get a ruling?

Does that mean any erroneous appeal is ignored?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Does that mean any improperly presented appeal does not get a ruling?
No, that isn't what I said, was it? However, define what you mean.

Quote:
Does that mean any erroneous appeal is ignored?
Could be, but not necessarily. As the umpire, I'm staying with the live ball and putting myself in the proper position for the most likely play. Again, define erroneous appeal. Do you mean wrong time, wrong base, wrong rule, etc.?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post

...but when it comes down to it, the "appeal" presented in the OP was not a legitimate appeal and there is nothing on which to rule.
The bottom line to this whole mess......
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
The so-called appeal was not for missing the base:
He is not the first to miss that in this topic.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
...by 8-7-4-c in the LBR, she must "advance non-stop to second base".

LBR is not in effect... F3 has the ball.

Oh yeah, I forgot.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
"F3 is not expected to chase B2". If so, that could change the outcome. Where is it written?

In the case book ruling on abandoning a base.
I didn't check 8-6, so didn't see that, but it does not seem abandoning to me.

--------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:
ABANDONING A BASE
8.6.22 SITUATION A: B1 reaches first safely. In her overrun, she breaks for second and then "gives up" far away from the baseline. RULING: If B1 is attempting to reach a base, she must be tagged out, but the fielder is not expected to chase her into the outfield. In the outlined case, B1 is out for giving up. (8-4-2; 8-6-2)

This case play does not apply. The runner is not "far away from the baseline", so there is no ruling of abandoning the attempt to reach a base.

Agree, does not apply, so doesn't that mean the fielder has to apply a tag, chasing if needed.

------------------------------------------------------------
Besides, this, also, is not an appeal.
It is a live ball appeal if the fielder does apply a tag before the runner reaches a base.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Having now read and studied this thread, if faced with the OP, I would give a quick, waist-level safe mechanic, and maybe say "safe". Some response to an apparent appeal is called for, although not required. Sort of like the 'that's-nothing' quick safe mechanic used when a possible interference or obstruction occurs that is neither. I think saying "improper appeal' in this instance would be slightly coaching.

AltUmpSteve got it right in post #14. I am surprised to learn that softball (Fed and ASA, at least) considers this an appeal play. I would have thought it would be a garden-variety tag-off-the-base play (8-6-2), the BR having lost the overrun protection by not returning directly to first base, a la 8-8-9. (Baseball treats it that way for attempts to advance to second after overrunning first; OBR 7.08(j), Fed 8-4-2-p)

For instance, if F3 somehow accidentally tagged BR off the base, I would still have an out. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
paul, you might be misinterpreting my reply to mike (irish). announcing "improper appeal" is not advisable when the ball is live. but given the scenario, you will most certainly be asked to explain your call when the ball becomes dead or after LBR. you will be asked to explain that the appeal attempt was improper, and a tag on the runner is required.

announcing "ball is live" is unnecessary. but when the live appeal is made, other players, and even coaches may confuse the state of play, and confuse the live appeal for a dead ball appeal. if a subsequent live appeal tag is attempted after the initial appeal call, the umpire might possibly be at the end of blame for any confusion for not clarifying the state of play.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
Having now read and studied this thread, if faced with the OP, I would give a quick, waist-level safe mechanic, and maybe say "safe". Some response to an apparent appeal is called for, although not required. Sort of like the 'that's-nothing' quick safe mechanic used when a possible interference or obstruction occurs that is neither. I think saying "improper appeal' in this instance would be slightly coaching.

AltUmpSteve got it right in post #14. I am surprised to learn that softball (Fed and ASA, at least) considers this an appeal play. I would have thought it would be a garden-variety tag-off-the-base play (8-6-2), the BR having lost the overrun protection by not returning directly to first base, a la 8-8-9. (Baseball treats it that way for attempts to advance to second after overrunning first; OBR 7.08(j), Fed 8-4-2-p)

For instance, if F3 somehow accidentally tagged BR off the base, I would still have an out. Right?

Last edited by shagpal; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 06:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
. . . you will most certainly be asked to explain your call when the ball becomes dead or after LBR.
. . .
. . . the umpire might possibly be at the end of blame for any confusion for not clarifying the state of play.
Well, sure, if DHC (defensive head coach) asks for an explanation, I'll call time after relaxed action, and explain anything in as few words as possible.

Knowing the vitality of the ball is the players' responsibility, assisted by their coaches, and is part of the game. Volunteering whether the ball is live is not my job. If you do, then you would be to blame for coaching. Let players make dumb moves.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
after your safe call, the smartest player will realize the state of play and make their play. the player that is not as smart and their coach will blame you for their confusion anyways in the aftermath. or imagine this...in the confusion, everyone thinks the ball is already dead including your partner. wouldn't that be ugly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
Well, sure, if DHC (defensive head coach) asks for an explanation, I'll call time after relaxed action, and explain anything in as few words as possible.

Knowing the vitality of the ball is the players' responsibility, assisted by their coaches, and is part of the game. Volunteering whether the ball is live is not my job. If you do, then you would be to blame for coaching. Let players make dumb moves.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
This case play does not apply. The runner is not "far away from the baseline", so there is no ruling of abandoning the attempt to reach a base.
Agree, does not apply, so doesn't that mean the fielder has to apply a tag, chasing if needed.
.
Yeah, that is a conundrum I noticed when I first read the play. If you want to tag the runner, you are going to have to go after him/her.

I doubt, though not impossible especially with AA, that the runner is going to say, "oh, you want to tag me? hang on, I'll be right there!"
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B-R turn at 1B tcannizzo Softball 6 Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:03pm
I guess it was my turn. Rich Basketball 18 Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:43pm
Everyone Turn On PMs Snake~eyes Basketball 9 Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm
OK...my turn Bob M. Football 22 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:57am
My turn!!! Suppref Basketball 4 Fri Mar 02, 2001 06:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1