The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member

Unless something changes, I plan to be there, DJ.
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaaumpdj View Post
im glad i just observe and dont get involved unless i feel my opinion will HELP...LOL See you in Colorado at fireworks steve?

DJ
*blink blink* Another Wisconsin ump? Originally from Milwaukee here.

Feel free to participate in the discussions anytime! We don't bite.

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Old Sat Feb 06, 2010, 06:32am
Official Forum Member

I am a noob, and wish to comment...

if players are standing around confused and the ball is still live, as an umpire, I think it would be advisable to loudly announce, "the ball is still LIVE", without any stoppage of play.

I believe the smartest player on the field would react to force a play, or yell to other players to make a play, or a coach would yell out for players to make a play.

like calling "time, or dead ball" to announce stoppage of play, simply alerting players and coaches as to the status of play neither instructs any player on how to make a play, or denies them the ability to choose their play.
Old Sat Feb 06, 2010, 09:22am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post

if players are standing around confused and the ball is still live, as an umpire, I think it would be advisable to loudly announce, "the ball is still LIVE", without any stoppage of play.

I believe the smartest player on the field would react to force a play, or yell to other players to make a play, or a coach would yell out for players to make a play.