![]() |
|
|||
You have multiple competeting violations where enforcement of either or both could result in abuse on either side...
So, the answer is simple, if you leave early on a IP, its a IDB, no pitch.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Out of curiosity, has that been submitted for this year?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
1) We won't know whether or not the runner will leave early until they actually do (hence, we're killing the play AFTER the runner left), and 2) Your argument that you killed the play prior seem to be a method to circumvent the ASA ruling rather than apply it. It may not be protestable, but it would still seem to be ignoring a ruling you disagree with. This whole thing is, as Mike says, a bit into TWP territory, but the ASA ruling is counter intuitive to the way the rule is written. The OC being given the choice of the IP being enforced (ball and runner advances) or the result of the play (runner out) is the more intuitive ruling. Couple that with the number of umpires who would not want to rule the runner out because it is "unfair", and I'd guess 9 out of 10 rank and file umpires would enforce the IP and not declare the runner out. On the double windmill, (on further thought), there probably never actually WAS an IP in ASA. The ASA rule is "not two revolutions", and the runner leaving early is an immediate DB/no pitch, so the pitcher never actually made two revolutions before the ball was dead... ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Hey Larry
Larry,
Aren't you glad you asked? Since this thing has already been hijacked to hell and back: how are things in Floridia? Glad your daughter got moved into her new digs. That's a great neighborhood she's in over there. Weather here has already been ugly. First flood warning of the year yesterday, over near Snoqualmie. You've probably heard the stories about the dam they are having problems with, down by Kent. No where near Lindsay, no where near me. If it gets to where SRW lives, we're all in trouble and will need arks. Isn't it funny how this topic was hijacked? We all discussed it to hell and back quite some time ago and I'm pretty sure the "play of the month" came straight from that discussion back then. Guess these folks will never learn the search feature and will continue to hijack posts like they did yours. Well, all this typing has worn my butt out. Still have limited energy, hope that improves with time. All my best, John
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
Quote:
Both teams committed a violation. Both teams are being held accountable.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Trade an IP for an out? Especially with 1 runner on, its a no brainer. Lucky for us, most of them dont read. ![]()
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
Well, if they do trade the IP for an out, they will only do it once or lose the game if the umpire is on the ball.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Speaking from a coaches perspective
It's too obscure, I wouldn't chance it that the umpire would call it right. ![]() As for the guy who said earlier that the offensive coaches would start sending their runners as soon as they see an IP if they changed the rule. I'll list below all the coaches that would be willing to risk a baserunner on the chance that an IP is an automatic call. List starts .... List ends .... (don't ban me, I ump some games too!) ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
There is a big chance that on your average weekend, you wouldnt get either call... the IP or the leaving early.. and if you did happen to get both called, they would probably get the rule wrong, afterwhich, you probably couldnt protest it anyway. But during Nats you would probably get both calls and if it were ruled incorrectly, you could summon a National Staff UIC for an immediate protest and get the correct ruling. Your point about penalizing a coach "getting cute" is well taken though, and very likely the actual bottom line to this. ![]()
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Thu Oct 29, 2009 at 09:36am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missing 1B | jhelbling | Baseball | 11 | Tue Jun 10, 2008 03:36pm |
What am I missing here? | kbilla | Basketball | 4 | Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:45pm |
What am I missing? | TexBlue | Softball | 13 | Sat Aug 13, 2005 09:27pm |
Am I missing something? | TruBlu | Softball | 49 | Sat Aug 30, 2003 06:57am |
missing 1B | greymule | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 13, 2002 10:19pm |