![]() |
|
|
|||
Runs Scored....3rd out
Thank you all for the comments, especially the ASA rule note.
I did leave out the fact that the level was Adult SP and the home runs occurred on fields w/o fences - hence each player had to touch their respective bases. Still a tad confused on (3) above - '....(3) Bases loaded w/2 outs and B/R hits a home run and R2 misses 3rd ==> Results: 1 run scores - only R3 from 3rd....' I do believe that R3 run would count since R3 is not directly involved in the 'force out' as B1 becomes the B/R? Only R1 is affected by the 'force out'? Am I correct in this understanding? Thanks for the participation. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
In this sitch, Mike would again (as usual) be correct. Since R2 is forced to advance to 3B, he MUST touch 3B. If he misses the base and the defense appeals, that is a force out, and zero runs score (same as if the batter hit a grounder to the shortstop who tagged 2B before R3 reached it). He missed the base to which he was force to run due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. However, again, since this is ASA slow pitch, runners are not forced to touch the bases on a home run, so there is nothing to appeal. If this were fast pitch, modified pitch, senior slow pitch or master's slow pitch, the above appeal would be granted, and no runs would score. Make a little more sense? ![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
One more wrinke: (1) R1 on 3rd alone - B/R misses 2nd on a home run (not over a fence) - Results: R1 still scores since B/R is not forced @ 2nd - correct? If B/R did miss 1st, then no runs score? (1) R1 on 3rd and R2 on 2nd - B/R misses 2nd on a home run (not over a fence) - Results: R1 & R2 still scores since B/R is not forced @ 2nd - correct? If B/R did miss 1st, then no runs score? Thanks |
|
||||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
In the two situations you provide where the BR misses 2B, the key is rule 5-5-B-3: Quote:
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Still a tad confused on (3) above - '....(3) Bases loaded w/2 outs and B/R hits a home run and R2 misses 3rd ==> Results: 1 run scores - only R3 from 3rd....'
I'm sure that's an oversight. No run would score on that play, since the third out was a force out. Oops. Apparently in ASA SP you don't have to run home runs out except in Masters & Seniors. Since 2007 I've concentrated only on FP and didn't even know that SP rule.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Tue Jul 07, 2009 at 11:49am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Run score? | nelson_28602 | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 10, 2008 03:38pm |
appeal play - does the run score? | ggk | Baseball | 8 | Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:16am |
Score the run? | NSump | Baseball | 6 | Sat Dec 24, 2005 01:51pm |
How many score? | bossman72 | Baseball | 2 | Fri May 20, 2005 10:09pm |
Did this run score?I said yes.(m) | dsimp8 | Softball | 6 | Sat Apr 26, 2003 06:13pm |