![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Simple.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Anyway, it is just a matter of the coach thinking she is correct and me trying to find the rule and interpret it correctly. She states the ball was fielded in fair territory (true), but F3 fielder's momentum from moving to the left carried F3 into foul territory, the closest and only play that F3 could take was to hit the orange base. I called out. Coach upset because she thought the orange base is only for the runner, and after much discussion we come to find out that this is not the case. Any other questions? Done being confused about being confused? (can that be done?) |
|
|||
It is easier when you think about the purpose of the double base.
It is to reduce collisions between the fielder and the runner. Requiring the fielder, coming back to the bag from foul territory, to cross the runner's path to get to the white bag would be counter to the purpose of the double base in the first place.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
I know this is not an umpire question/concern, BUT...if all the commissioners/JO commissioners were to require their coaches to obtain their ACE certification, we wouldn't have coaches asking about this. I can guarangoddamtee you this coach has not taken ACE, probably not this year or any prior year. And, if they attended our in person sessions held by JO commissioner with invited guests, like we do in Seattle where we do everything right ![]() ![]() (Smart question being, "Can I list a DP and a Flex on my original lineup card and then drop the Flex right after I give you my lineup card?" I wanted to hug her! She got it!)
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
Quote:
and finally, "If pigs could fly......." |
|
|||
...you'd have swine flew(flu)? ![]()
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
Quote:
AFAIC, all the coach has done is lose one entry into the game and restricted the player to where in the line-up she can emerge. |
|
|||
Quote:
yeah, I asked the coach at home and she said that they had never done it as it seemed trivial and didn't give them anything they didn't already have (she dumbs it down for her poor umpire ![]() But thanks for the info.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
Quote:
It seems to me the VAST majority of coaches use the Dp/Flex for the purpose of getting one more player in the game.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
Because, if they ever want to use the DP/FLEX during the course of the game, then they must start the game with it.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Br's Rights At Orange 1b | hmcproperties | Softball | 2 | Wed May 24, 2006 12:23pm |
Ref, Orange County CA | wrangler | Basketball | 4 | Tue Jan 17, 2006 04:07pm |
Starting on the orange base | Dakota | Softball | 12 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 06:07pm |
Orange vs. White | Yeggman | Softball | 9 | Mon Apr 05, 2004 06:56pm |
Double bag at first white/orange | chuck chopper | Baseball | 5 | Mon Mar 22, 2004 10:52pm |