The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Orange Base

Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
out. 8-2m-4, 8-2m-5 (hrmm, ASA rule numbering has me cornfused.)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Tue May 12, 2009 at 02:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,360
My call? Get rid of the safety base. It causes more problems than it solves. JMO.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
better yet.. lets make it a 8' first base ultra-safe mega circle. with some 24" lanes in it.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?
More data. Did F3 touch the safety base as the momentum was pulling him/her into foul territory, but did s/he move into foul territory and then come back to the base?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 02:27pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
better yet.. lets make it a 8' first base ultra-safe mega circle. with some 24" lanes in it.
Hmmmm...sounds familiar...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
More data. Did F3 touch the safety base as the momentum was pulling him/her into foul territory, but did s/he move into foul territory and then come back to the base?

Thanks
... he had to run (from foul territory) and tag the orange (colored) part.

OP looks pretty complete.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
More data. Did F3 touch the safety base as the momentum was pulling him/her into foul territory, but did s/he move into foul territory and then come back to the base?
Thanks
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?
Yes. When the defense is coming from foul territory to make the play, they are allowed to use the orange bag. OUT.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
... he had to run (from foul territory) and tag the orange (colored) part.

OP looks pretty complete.
No, that isn't what the OP states, Sam....er, ...CNB.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?
Just validates the out call. As Tom notes, as long as the defender is coming from the foul side of the 1B line, either portion of the base my be used.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?
Yes. It's time to get a new batter because the old one is out.

(sorry, couldn't resist...going back to cave..)
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?
How does this not state that the fielder was carried/dragged/whatever into foul territory? and how does this not state that he had to run and tag the bag from foul territory?

not to pick nits.. but it looks like a pretty complete OP to me.

h3ll... why am i arguing about it... its not like i wrote it or got the answer wrong.
its all good.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
How does this not state that the fielder was carried/dragged/whatever into foul territory? and how does this not state that he had to run and tag the bag from foul territory?

not to pick nits.. but it looks like a pretty complete OP to me.
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.
This is what my Umpire in Chief gave me:
RULES SUPPLEMENT PAGE 107
1. Appeals
A. Types.
1. Missing a base, forward or backward, or touching the white portion
only of the double base when a play is being made on the
batter-runner at first base.
EXCEPTION: A play from foul territory, or an errant or missed
throw pulling the defensive player into foul territory.

Page 83
E. When the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the umpire’s
judgment, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base; however,
the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting
to field a batted ball. When the defensive player uses the colored
portion of the double base, the batter-runner can run in fair territory when the
throw is coming from the foul side of first base, and if hit by the thrown ball,
it is not interference. If intentional interference is ruled, the runner is out.

Page 84
M. The double base shall be used at first base in all divisions of play. The following
rules should be enforced:
1. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the white portion is fair.
2. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the colored portion is foul.
3. When a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must
use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the
base.
EFFECT: The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at
first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing
the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base.
Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, an
appeal shall not be honored.

He states that runner would be called Safe. Interpretations?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Br's Rights At Orange 1b hmcproperties Softball 2 Wed May 24, 2006 12:23pm
Ref, Orange County CA wrangler Basketball 4 Tue Jan 17, 2006 04:07pm
Starting on the orange base Dakota Softball 12 Wed Sep 22, 2004 06:07pm
Orange vs. White Yeggman Softball 9 Mon Apr 05, 2004 06:56pm
Double bag at first white/orange chuck chopper Baseball 5 Mon Mar 22, 2004 10:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1