The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Orange Base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53179-orange-base.html)

orangebase Tue May 12, 2009 01:43pm

Orange Base
 
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?

CajunNewBlue Tue May 12, 2009 01:52pm

out. 8-2m-4, 8-2m-5 (hrmm, ASA rule numbering has me cornfused.)

Skahtboi Tue May 12, 2009 02:01pm

My call? Get rid of the safety base. It causes more problems than it solves. JMO.

CajunNewBlue Tue May 12, 2009 02:07pm

better yet.. lets make it a 8' first base ultra-safe mega circle. with some 24" lanes in it. :D

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 12, 2009 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by orangebase (Post 601510)
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?

More data. Did F3 touch the safety base as the momentum was pulling him/her into foul territory, but did s/he move into foul territory and then come back to the base?

Thanks

Ref Ump Welsch Tue May 12, 2009 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 601522)
better yet.. lets make it a 8' first base ultra-safe mega circle. with some 24" lanes in it. :D

Hmmmm...sounds familiar... :cool:

CajunNewBlue Tue May 12, 2009 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 601527)
More data. Did F3 touch the safety base as the momentum was pulling him/her into foul territory, but did s/he move into foul territory and then come back to the base?

Thanks

... he had to run (from foul territory) and tag the orange (colored) part.

OP looks pretty complete.

orangebase Tue May 12, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 601527)
More data. Did F3 touch the safety base as the momentum was pulling him/her into foul territory, but did s/he move into foul territory and then come back to the base?
Thanks

He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?

Dakota Tue May 12, 2009 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by orangebase (Post 601549)
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?

Yes. When the defense is coming from foul territory to make the play, they are allowed to use the orange bag. OUT.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 12, 2009 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 601544)
... he had to run (from foul territory) and tag the orange (colored) part.

OP looks pretty complete.

No, that isn't what the OP states, Sam....er, ...CNB.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 12, 2009 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by orangebase (Post 601549)
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?

Just validates the out call. As Tom notes, as long as the defender is coming from the foul side of the 1B line, either portion of the base my be used.

bkbjones Tue May 12, 2009 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by orangebase (Post 601549)
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?

Yes. It's time to get a new batter because the old one is out.

(sorry, couldn't resist...going back to cave..)

CajunNewBlue Tue May 12, 2009 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by orangebase (Post 601510)
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?

How does this not state that the fielder was carried/dragged/whatever into foul territory? and how does this not state that he had to run and tag the bag from foul territory?

not to pick nits.. but it looks like a pretty complete OP to me.

h3ll... why am i arguing about it... its not like i wrote it or got the answer wrong. :)
its all good.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 12, 2009 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 601566)
How does this not state that the fielder was carried/dragged/whatever into foul territory? and how does this not state that he had to run and tag the bag from foul territory?

not to pick nits.. but it looks like a pretty complete OP to me.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.

orangebase Tue May 12, 2009 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 601570)
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.

This is what my Umpire in Chief gave me:
RULES SUPPLEMENT PAGE 107
1. Appeals
A. Types.
1. Missing a base, forward or backward, or touching the white portion
only of the double base when a play is being made on the
batter-runner at first base.
EXCEPTION: A play from foul territory, or an errant or missed
throw pulling the defensive player into foul territory.

Page 83
E. When the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the umpire’s
judgment, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base; however,
the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting
to field a batted ball. When the defensive player uses the colored
portion of the double base, the batter-runner can run in fair territory when the
throw is coming from the foul side of first base, and if hit by the thrown ball,
it is not interference. If intentional interference is ruled, the runner is out.

Page 84
M. The double base shall be used at first base in all divisions of play. The following
rules should be enforced:
1. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the white portion is fair.
2. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the colored portion is foul.
3. When a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must
use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the
base.
EFFECT: The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at
first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing
the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base.
Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, an
appeal shall not be honored.

He states that runner would be called Safe. Interpretations?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1