The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
What rule set?

NFHS allows for a 4th out appeal on runners who haven't scored. In this scenario, the run wouldn't have counted because the B/R failed to reach 1B.

ASA, however, doesn't allow 4th out appeals on runners wh haven't scored. In this scenario, the run would count.
But the OP's situation doesn't allow for any type of appeal. They aren't appealing a runner missing a base, leaving early on a caught fly ball, batting out of order, or attempting to advance to second base after making the turn at first. No where in the rule book of any ruleset that I know of does it allow a fourth out appeal on a BR runner on a force at first.

In the OP, the run should count, provided, as I am reading it, the tag of the runner caught between 2nd and 3rd occurs after the R1 touched home.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Counting JPaco54 Basketball 27 Sat Feb 14, 2009 07:55am
Trouble counting to seven whaddayouknow Football 19 Wed Nov 02, 2005 01:27pm
Counting WeekendRef Basketball 17 Sat Aug 07, 2004 05:51pm
Another Counting Question rainmaker Basketball 6 Sun Jun 20, 2004 03:38pm
I'm counting it!!! mick Basketball 11 Thu Apr 05, 2001 09:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1