![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
"Based on part (1), "to indicate the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more bases while the fielder who handles the batted ball plays on a preceding runner;" -- I'm scoring this a FC for the batter and a 7-5 putout for Out #3. " Taken literally, this would mean that with a runner on 2B and a ball off the wall in CF that F8 recovers and throws to F2 and "plays on a preceding runner", that the batter would not be credited with a base hit. Same thing on your #3 point above. Runner on 2B attempts to score on a batted ball hit to the outfield [aka a base hit] but is thrown out at home. No base hit for the batter? Don't think so. This is one of those situations we had in Business Law I. We [students] always argued that "it wasn't fair", and the Professor always said "but it's the law". No, not that it was foul, necessarily. Ted |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But, the OP has a runner attempting to advance on the batted ball, that is put out before successfully advancing. At all. It may have been poor baserunning, but the rule quoted above (FC 3) makes this play a fielder's choice. I hear you; if the runner stayed on 2nd, there is no play, and it's a hit. But the runner didn't stay on 2nd, stupidly attempted to advance, and was put out. The scoring rule makes that a fielder's choice.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
10.05 Base Hits A base hit is a statistic credited to a batter when such batter reaches base safely, as set forth in this Rule 10.05. (a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when: (4) the batter reaches first base safely on a fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder and that is in fair territory when the ball reaches the outfield, unless in the scorer's judgment the ball could have been handled with ordinary effort; (b) The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a: (3) pitcher, the catcher or any infielder handles a batted ball and puts out a preceding runner who is attempting to advance one base or to return to his original base, or would have put out such runner with ordinary effort except for a fielding error. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit; In our original post, since the ball was hit to the outfield, the batter is credited with a hit. I believe the deciding factor in the two above scenarios would be that the ball in the outfield would likely not result in the fielder to retire BR at first base, but in the second it would except for the choice made by the defense to play on a different runner. That's pretty much the logic I'm agreeing with. Ted |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() I missed one of my league games somewhere along the line and learned that my team was no-hit the previous evening. Seems there was some debate about a ground ball, and defensive effort, and a runner reaching first base. My [visiting] team obviously scored it as a base hit. Unfortunately, the home team book is "official", so we "officially" had egg on our collective faces as a result. Ted |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I kept an unofficial book for 4 years of HS, 4 years of college, and 8 years of travel ball. My interp on the FC was that the fielder chose to make the play they did when they could have gotten the BR if they had chosen to. (Of course, there were some force plays where the defense got the out when they would never have had a chance at the BR. But those are FCs by definition.)
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Scoring Question | dino14 | Baseball | 8 | Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:37pm |
| Scoring Question | :=) | Baseball | 24 | Mon Apr 17, 2006 03:55pm |
| Scoring question | Rift | Track & Field | 4 | Mon Jul 25, 2005 09:14am |
| scoring question | hunter57 | Baseball | 7 | Mon Mar 15, 2004 02:38pm |
| Scoring Question | harmbu | Baseball | 2 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 01:19pm |