Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
Contact does not always require an INT or OB call. See page 250 of the ASA 2009 Umpire Manual, reproduced here for your convienience:
"Contact between defensive and offensive players does not necessarily mean that Obstruction or Interference occurred."
Having said that, this play does not, IMHO, fall into this category. It has to be one or the other. And as Steve said, its your judgment. The way I read it, I'd think I'd have OBS based on the fact that the defender didn't have a play on the ball.
|
Thanks for the ASA quote.
Not having my book with me (and not sure when I'll be home) and for the edification of those who do not have a book, could you give an example where int/obs might not be called?
Thanks