The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
At every other base, the runner through some dumb act can put themselves back in jeapordy of being put out.

The difference between home and every other base is that after touching the first three, the runner's status is still that of "a runner"- from a definitional rules standpoint- and she is still liable to be put out.

Once a runner crosses the last one, she is no longer "a runner" (pick your term- an "offensive player", an "offensive teammate" or "a person authorized to be on the field of play") and can no longer be put out (assuming no valid appeal is possible).
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
This is a pretty good one. The status of a runner who has scored seems in question - but I dont know that that is the big the question. The big question is the score.

Rule 5.5.1 - A run scores when...

So are there any criteria which would negate that score?

There is no legit appeal being made, so there is no rule negating the run scoring .. ie the score is in the books. The runner could do any number of things, Interfere (were something else going on), get ejected, do a hand stand, beg the umpire not to score the score because they dont want to play extra innings and want to go home, purposely return to 3rd to prevent the score to prevent run rule.

But they cant.

It's in the book. The ruling on the field was essentially correct in my view, with the exception that I dont believe the status of the runner is the big question - the big question is can that runner do anything at that point to unring the scoring bell?

Barring an appeal sitiation, I dont believe they can.
Not having looked at 5-5-1 (I'm at work) I'd have to guess that even without an exception, you are expected to take off a score in this case: runner goes home and then goes back to third because she left early. She can retrace since no following runner has scored and she stayed in live ball territory. Now, once she retouches, the appeal violation is cleared up. If you don't take the run off the board, then you either expect the runner to stay at third and score twice or run off into DB territory.

Now, suppose I change that scenario a little bit. She did not in fact leave early. (Ball was bobbled in the outfield and nobody but the guys in blue knew the rule.) Are you still going to take the run off the board?
________
WildonGirl

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No intent required in ASA
Or anywhere else, as far as I know.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Cecil, per the NFHS case cited, they say if the runner retracing back to 3rd draws a throw that lets another runner advance, it is not to be ruled interference unless deemed to be intentional by the umpire. In the case study, the base coach thought the runner had missed 3rd and recalled her to the base, drawing a throw from the outfield that allowed the batter to move to 2nd. Since the act of returning to 3rd was not intentional, there is no intererence.

However, per ASA, if a retired runner draws a throw that allows a runner to advance it is interference and closest runner to home is out.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Cecil, per the NFHS case cited, they say if the runner retracing back to 3rd draws a throw that lets another runner advance, it is not to be ruled interference unless deemed to be intentional by the umpire. In the case study, the base coach thought the runner had missed 3rd and recalled her to the base, drawing a throw from the outfield that allowed the batter to move to 2nd. Since the act of returning to 3rd was not intentional, there is no intererence.

However, per ASA, if a retired runner draws a throw that allows a runner to advance it is interference and closest runner to home is out.
In both the rule book and case book, the sentence about drawing a throw does not say intentionally, although the context of the paragraph supports intentionally and now I agree.
Good catch!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 05:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Not having looked at 5-5-1 (I'm at work) I'd have to guess that even without an exception, you are expected to take off a score in this case: runner goes home and then goes back to third because she left early. She can retrace since no following runner has scored and she stayed in live ball territory. Now, once she retouches, the appeal violation is cleared up. If you don't take the run off the board, then you either expect the runner to stay at third and score twice or run off into DB territory.

Now, suppose I change that scenario a little bit. She did not in fact leave early. (Ball was bobbled in the outfield and nobody but the guys in blue knew the rule.) Are you still going to take the run off the board?
From my point of view, you are making the mistake of complicating this. Either its an appeal play, which is covered by rule, or a score, which is covered by rule.

You can flavor that anyway you like it and it still boils down to that.. but if you then go farther with your "what if" and add conceivable umpire errors, UFO's causing panic, malaria induced blindness of the PU, etc - that only muddy's the water.

I think the play is interesting because it seems logicially we should hold the runner accountable for obvious DMR (more accurately dumb move coach) - but I dont believe that position can be supported by rule in terms of negating a scored run barring appeal.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 10:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
I came into this last night at the follow up HS rules meeting with RKB.

This is actually one of the plays I was going to talk about in my OBS/INT clinc tomorrow morning.

I'm going to cite NFHS rules since I have that book in front of me. If I put together a few rules and some "read between the lines" this is what I come up with:

Quote:
Rule 2-49: a run is scored when an offensive player legally advances to and touches home plate
Quote:
Rule 8-6-18: Runner is out...after being declared out or scoring a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner.
(read between the lines disclaimer - I believe this is intended more for the retired runner from first base that reaches out and knocks down the relay throw to first after the front end of a double play)
Quote:
A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference with the exception of the batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.
(read between the lines disclaimer - Per the definition of interference, the act does not have to be intentional, it just has to interfere. The penalty is that the ball is dead and the runner closest to home is declared out.

Rule 9-9-1 defines how a team scores and basically restate 2-49 as cited above. None of the exceptions listed for 9-9-1 include a runner who has legally scored retreating back across home for any reason. I can't find anywhere in the book that allows for a run to be "unscored" once it has legally scored.

So, without seeing the play, I count the run, call interference on the runner that scored, and declare the runner closest to home out.

In my opinion, the case play does not match up with the wording of the rule.

Without looking at the ASA book, I believe this interp would be the same as I can't recall any differences in these rules between NFHS and ASA.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2009, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
From my point of view, you are making the mistake of complicating this. Either its an appeal play, which is covered by rule, or a score, which is covered by rule.

You can flavor that anyway you like it and it still boils down to that.. but if you then go farther with your "what if" and add conceivable umpire errors, UFO's causing panic, malaria induced blindness of the PU, etc - that only muddy's the water.

I think the play is interesting because it seems logicially we should hold the runner accountable for obvious DMR (more accurately dumb move coach) - but I dont believe that position can be supported by rule in terms of negating a scored run barring appeal.
There's nothing UFO-like about my scenario. If you have a runner who retreats to third after touching home because she left to early, are you negating the run? If so, using what rule? If not, what are you doing with the runner on third? And does it matter if the player retreating to third does so in error.
________
WASHINGTON MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
I tend to agree with Andy but the wording in the case book is making it a hard sell.
>
then---
If the runner that was on third touches home then the coach calls her back to the base with no throw by the defense-- I hope the car is started when you pull the runner off third and add a point to the offensive team.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
A point?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
There's nothing UFO-like about my scenario. If you have a runner who retreats to third after touching home because she left to early, are you negating the run? If so, using what rule? If not, what are you doing with the runner on third? And does it matter if the player retreating to third does so in error.
RS #1 pretty well lays it all out if you are having trouble with appeal plays. Let me know which part is confusing you.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
There's nothing UFO-like about my scenario. If you have a runner who retreats to third after touching home because she left to early, are you negating the run? If so, using what rule? If not, what are you doing with the runner on third? And does it matter if the player retreating to third does so in error.
9-9-1 (NFHS) defines how a run legally scores. Touching first, second, third, and home. In the original scenario, this is exactly what happened. That run has legally scored and cannot be "unscored".

In your scenario above, the runner has not legally scored (yet) since she left third early on a caught fly ball. As Mike said earlier, a runner is always allowed to retreat to correct a baserunning mistake. The runner is subject to appeal up until the next pitch to a batter or the end of the inning. If no appeal is made, the run legally scores when the time for the appeal has passed.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfo9494 View Post
I tend to agree with Andy but the wording in the case book is making it a hard sell.
>
then---
If the runner that was on third touches home then the coach calls her back to the base with no throw by the defense-- I hope the car is started when you pull the runner off third and add a point to the offensive team.
Maybe so, but if the runner has legally scored per 9-9-1 (NFHS) and her continued running did not cause interference, you would be correct in pulling her off of third and scoring a run.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
RS #1 pretty well lays it all out if you are having trouble with appeal plays. Let me know which part is confusing you.
There's no appeal in the scenario I'm presenting. Just a runner who a) was (or b) mistakenly believed she was) subject to appeal retreating to third and arriving safely before the defense could consider appealing.
________
YOUNGSWEETPUSSY4U

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
In a) the runner did not score, since she left early / missed 3B, etc. IOW, a baserunning infraction leaves her (and her score) in jeopardy. Since she rectified the basrunning error, she now has to proceed home again to score. The alternate way for her to score here is to not return to 3B and hope the defense does not appeal.

In b) it is just a bit of post-scoring harmless exercise.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
home run? Blue19 Baseball 6 Fri Jun 10, 2005 07:10pm
Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... Bluefoot Softball 6 Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm
Home Run - or was it? WestMichBlue Softball 11 Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:12am
Forced runner retreating Bluefoot Softball 14 Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:50am
retreating toward home David Van Milligen Baseball 5 Wed Nov 29, 2000 09:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1