I came into this last night at the follow up HS rules meeting with RKB.
This is actually one of the plays I was going to talk about in my OBS/INT clinc tomorrow morning.
I'm going to cite NFHS rules since I have that book in front of me. If I put together a few rules and some "read between the lines" this is what I come up with:
Quote:
Rule 2-49: a run is scored when an offensive player legally advances to and touches home plate
|
Quote:
Rule 8-6-18: Runner is out...after being declared out or scoring a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner.
|
(read between the lines disclaimer - I believe this is intended more for the retired runner from first base that reaches out and knocks down the relay throw to first after the front end of a double play)
Quote:
A runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference with the exception of the batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.
|
(read between the lines disclaimer - Per the definition of interference, the act does not have to be intentional, it just has to interfere. The penalty is that the ball is dead and the runner closest to home is declared out.
Rule 9-9-1 defines how a team scores and basically restate 2-49 as cited above. None of the exceptions listed for 9-9-1 include a runner who has legally scored retreating back across home for any reason. I can't find anywhere in the book that allows for a run to be "unscored" once it has legally scored.
So, without seeing the play, I count the run, call interference on the runner that scored, and declare the runner closest to home out.
In my opinion, the case play does not match up with the wording of the rule.
Without looking at the ASA book, I believe this interp would be the same as I can't recall any differences in these rules between NFHS and ASA.