The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
The fly ball was caught, so R1 has to return to 1st properly, touching an passed bases aclong the way. The subsequent advance has nothing to do with that and any advance or award on the throw still requires the return to 1st.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
The fly ball was caught, so R1 has to return to 1st properly, touching an passed bases aclong the way. The subsequent advance has nothing to do with that and any advance or award on the throw still requires the return to 1st.
Other than making sure the cap is on the eggnog, where are you going with this?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
This question involves what OBR calls "last time by." As with many interpretations, this is not specifically spelled out in either the OBR or the ASA rule book. I asked years ago whether ASA recognizes this principle, and the answer on this board was "no," which ASA subsequently reaffirmed to me in an e-mail.

Therefore, in the OP, the ASA umpire made the correct call by ruling the runner out on appeal. In ASA, a runner cannot correct a miss simply by touching the base "last time by." In the OP, R1 must touch 2B on his way back before retouching 1B. For example, if the throw to 1B entered DBT, R1 would have to retouch 2B, then retouch 1B, then take his award (3B or home depending on where he was when outfielder released the ball.) An umpire accustomed to OBR rules would have to know that ASA does not call this play the same way.

OBR also has a stipulation that a "gross miss" of a base (by more than a body length) cannot be corrected last time by. ASA does not recognize the concept of a gross miss (versus a regular miss), and in this case, it wouldn't matter anyway, since "last time by" is not an issue in ASA.

I don't know how deeply anyone has ever analyzed this play, but there is a question in my mind as to whether R1 should be out for missing second or for failing to retouch 1B. (In other words, maybe the umpire was wrong to grant the appeal.) Obviously, if after missing 2B on his return, R1 ran two-thirds of the way back to 1B and didn't touch 1B, he could turn around and correct his miss at 2B and then, assuming he had time, retouch 1B and advance to 2B. So it seems to me that technically, that appeal that he missed 2B may not be valid, since he is standing on 2B. But since his retouch of 1B came before his legal retouch of 2B, he thus never actually returned to 1B. (Perhaps, in ASA's thinking, by standing on 2B he has now corrected his miss, but he has not yet legally retouched 1B.) Therefore, the trick might be that the appeal has to be for failing to tag up properly at 1B, not for missing 2B.

I'm assuming that, in the OP, "the ball is overthrown at 1B" means that the ball gets away and remains in play (does not enter DBT).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Wed Dec 31, 2008 at 02:57pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul: True or False? mbyron Basketball 30 Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:53am
True or False IRISHMAFIA Softball 17 Thu May 06, 2004 07:32pm
Modified True or False WestMichBlue Softball 2 Thu May 06, 2004 02:49pm
True/False donj Basketball 46 Sat Nov 09, 2002 09:07pm
More Part I Questions ( True or False) MisterDeVonne Basketball 12 Fri Oct 18, 2002 07:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1