The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 05, 2004, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA

F6, standing in the base path, is attempting to pick up a ground ball which has bounced off his chest. R2 runs into F6 and should be called out.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 05, 2004, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kananga, DR Congo ex Illinois
Posts: 279
True.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 05, 2004, 09:02pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
True, (question 10)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 05, 2004, 10:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 546
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

F6, standing in the base path, is attempting to pick up a ground ball which has bounced off his chest. R2 runs into F6 and should be called out.

I'm not sure, I don't call adult softball. Now, if it bounces off HER chest, it's


TRUE.
__________________
Rick
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
Was it intentional? If not I'll go with false. Brian
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 05:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Sounds like an 8-7-J5. That would be considered a
deflected ball in my HO. However, the play did not
state it was intentional.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 178
Send a message via AIM to buddha69
True
__________________
Ed
ASA, NFHS
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Mike, I'm surprised you posed such an easy question.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Mike, I'm surprised you posed such an easy question.
Apparently not.

The answer is true.

Cite: Casebook 1-74
Rule 1-Interference
Rule 8.7.J

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 207
Without any rulebook or casebook in front of my...

Is this the "step and reach" guideline?? On the small-ball side of the house it goes something like this: If a fielder muffs a catch, but the ball is within a step and reach - the fielder is still protected. Any farther than a step and reach places the fielder in jeopardy of causing obstruction.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Mike, I'm surprised you posed such an easy question.
Apparently not.

The answer is true.

Cite: Casebook 1-74
Rule 1-Interference
Rule 8.7.J

Dang! I didn't get a chance to register my answer. So I will say "true," and cite rule 8:7:J as my reasoning!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 112
Unhappy

I was going with 8.7.J (5) I don't have a casebook.
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kananga, DR Congo ex Illinois
Posts: 279
Kono, it's because it's a deflected batted ball and there is a fielder that can still make an out who is attempting to field it. Picture a ball that bounces off the 2nd baseman's glove and the 1st baseman is trying to field it but gets bumped by R1, you'd clearly have an out. In the case Mike gave the deflection was by and to the same fielder is all, one step or five makes no difference.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I don't believe that a ball the bounces off F4's chest is considered deflected if F4 is trying to pick it up. A ball that caroms off F3 (or, more likely, F1) and then goes to F4 would be a deflected ball. Interference in that case does require intent.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
I don't believe that a ball the bounces off F4's chest is considered deflected if F4 is trying to pick it up. A ball that caroms off F3 (or, more likely, F1) and then goes to F4 would be a deflected ball. Interference in that case does require intent.
ASA POE 32
Quote:
It is interference if the batted ball ricochets off one defensive player and any player has the opportunity to make an out.
__________________
Tom
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1