The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
True or False - ASA

One out, runner on 1B. B hits a long fly ball to LF. R1 is between 2B & 3B when the ball is caught. R1 returns to 1B, but misses 2B along the way. The ball is overthrown at 1B allowing R1 to now advance to 2B. The defense appeals that R1 should be out for missing 2B on the way back to 1B even though R1 is now standing on 2B. The umpire rules R1 out on appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
One out, runner on 1B. B hits a long fly ball to LF. R1 is between 2B & 3B when the ball is caught. R1 returns to 1B, but misses 2B along the way. The ball is overthrown at 1B allowing R1 to now advance to 2B. The defense appeals that R1 should be out for missing 2B on the way back to 1B even though R1 is now standing on 2B. The umpire rules R1 out on appeal.

yeah coz once you pass 2nd base you cant retreat to tag up in this scenario. so they would have to appeal the tagup at first?
so that would make my answer: false... wrong appeal.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
yeah coz once you pass 2nd base you cant retreat to tag up in this scenario. so they would have to appeal the tagup at first?
so that would make my answer: false... wrong appeal.
Why not? There is no restriction in ASA concerning returning to touch any missed bases or bases left too soon unless they have already advanced to the next awarded base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
she passed 2nd base... then try to retreat..yes?
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
my gut tells me this is just a DMR play and play stands as is.... but im trying to find the trick in the question... lol

and I dont have a ASA rulebook.... forgot to ask Santa.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
she passed 2nd base... then try to retreat..yes?
So?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 30, 2008, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
ok so then if she had passed home plate, in ASA they are allowed to retreat? or is this apples and oranges?
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 03:33pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
One out, runner on 1B. B hits a long fly ball to LF. R1 is between 2B & 3B when the ball is caught. R1 returns to 1B, but misses 2B along the way. The ball is overthrown at 1B allowing R1 to now advance to 2B. The defense appeals that R1 should be out for missing 2B on the way back to 1B even though R1 is now standing on 2B. The umpire rules R1 out on appeal.
Correct. 2008 ASA 8.3.A

When a runner must return to a base while the ball is live or dead, the bases must be touched in reverse order.
EFFECT: The runner is out, if properly appealed.
EXCEPTION: On a foul ball.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
There's no question that in ASA R1 is liable to put out on appeal. However, exactly what is the violation? What violation does the defense appeal to the umpire? Is it the miss of 2B (remember, he's standing on it) or the failure to retouch 1B properly (after retouching 2B)?

In other words, does ASA consider R1, standing on 2B, to have fulfilled his responsibility to touch 2B, but—because he didn't retouch 2B first—to have failed in his responsibility to retouch 1B after the catch?

We might ask how R1 would correct his error(s) if he was between 3B and 2B when the throw was released, and then the throw entered DBT. If R1 had missed 2B on the way back to 1B, retouched 1B, and made it to 2B as the ball went out of play, how would he take his award (home)? Would he have to retreat and retouch 1B, retouch 2B, and then retouch 1B again before he took his award? Or would one retouch of 1B with a subsequent retouch of 2B be enough? (Or at this point is the error uncorrectable?)
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
yeah... how does a runner fix this?
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
yeah... how does a runner fix this?
Huh, don't do it in the first place.....Like messing with you
NCB, you know that.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump View Post
Huh, don't do it in the first place.....Like messing with you
NCB, you know that.
one person gets it!! love you man!!
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Here's my thoughts on the subject.

As SRW cites, the runner must touch bases in proper reverse order. And the "last time by" policy isn't accepted. So, having missed 2nd, the runner must return and touch 2nd.

Assuming he does return to touch 2nd, in order to return to 1st in proper reverse order, he must return again and retouch 1st. In effect, since he missed 2nd, the initial touch of 1st is invalid because it happened out of order.

It may be semantics, but the OP doesn't specify live ball or dead ball appeal. If a live ball appeal by tagging the runner (who is in jeopardy), I would accept the appeal as being "clear enough" in its intent. If a dead ball appeal, I believe the defense would have the opportunity during that dead ball period to reasonably explore any realisticly available appeal (in other words, I would answer the initial appeal in such a way as to suggest they might be asking the wrong question, without telling them what question to ask).

Or, I could be wrong .
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
From the original post, I'll assume the overthrow stayed in play and the runner advanced to 2B at his own risk.

My opinion is that the runner cannot be called out for missing second base [on appeal] since he's currently standing on it. The appeal was for missing second base, and I think that appeal should be denied. So I select "FALSE" to the original post.

However, if the appeal was that the runner did not correctly tag up at 1B, I think the runner should be called out.

If an infielder with the ball ran over to the runner standing on second base and tagged him, I'd have to ask for the specific infraction being appealed.

I'm not familiar with the last pass concept. A more obvious [but similarly egregious] offense would be if the runner crossed the middle of the diamond from around 3B and went directly to 1B [almost via the pitcher's plate]. But again, appealing the missing of 2B when he's standing on it seems hinkey to me.

And, if there was a runner at 3B at the start of all this, and that runner properly tagged and scored, the run would count as the appeal would be considered as a timing play.

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 01, 2009, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
I'm not familiar with the last pass concept.
Ted
"Last time by" is a baseball concept. If the OP happened in a baseball game the runner would not be out because he touched 2B on the last time he ran to it. Touching a base on your last time by that base corrects any baserunning error you made at that base. As we have seen this only applies in baseball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul: True or False? mbyron Basketball 30 Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:53am
True or False IRISHMAFIA Softball 17 Thu May 06, 2004 07:32pm
Modified True or False WestMichBlue Softball 2 Thu May 06, 2004 02:49pm
True/False donj Basketball 46 Sat Nov 09, 2002 09:07pm
More Part I Questions ( True or False) MisterDeVonne Basketball 12 Fri Oct 18, 2002 07:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1