There's no question that in ASA R1 is liable to put out on appeal. However, exactly what is the violation? What violation does the defense appeal to the umpire? Is it the miss of 2B (remember, he's standing on it) or the failure to retouch 1B properly (after retouching 2B)?
In other words, does ASA consider R1, standing on 2B, to have fulfilled his responsibility to touch 2B, but—because he didn't retouch 2B first—to have failed in his responsibility to retouch 1B after the catch?
We might ask how R1 would correct his error(s) if he was between 3B and 2B when the throw was released, and then the throw entered DBT. If R1 had missed 2B on the way back to 1B, retouched 1B, and made it to 2B as the ball went out of play, how would he take his award (home)? Would he have to retreat and retouch 1B, retouch 2B, and then retouch 1B again before he took his award? Or would one retouch of 1B with a subsequent retouch of 2B be enough? (Or at this point is the error uncorrectable?)
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|