![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
ASA changed the rule 2 or 3 years ago (I wish I had my book on me). But it does state that the obs is off if the BR returns to the original base. Your OP states the BR rounded 1st, which to me means she had tagged 1st base, then was obs, then returned. Once she return the obs is off. Did I read your OP wrong?
|
|
|||
|
I read the OP as this: B/R had an easy double. Rounding 1B, F3 obstructed her and she was knocked to the ground. BU signalled DDB and stated obstruction. B/R returned to 1B.
BU ruled that B/R would have achieved 2B and awarded her such. ASA 8.5.B I can't find anywhere in my ASA rulebook that states if the obstructed runner returns to a base, the obstruction is ignored. Please provide a rule cite when you can get at your rulebook. BTW - I would have waited until the ball was in the circle to kill it as well.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
|
My guess is he is "misremembering" (thank you Roger Clemens for that great addition to the language...) the change regarding the intervening play.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
As Steve stated, the OBS would be cancelled is if 1B was the base the umpire had determined would be the award and there was a subsequent play on another runner. (ASA 8.5.B.1.Exceptions.a)
|
|
|||
|
Steve posted after I'd hit reply and was peering through the book to double check. However, this is a specific situation, not the generalization that I was getting from VC's posts that if the runner returns to the original post, he always looses OBS protection.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 3-man Mechanics Question | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 14 | Tue May 20, 2008 10:26am |
| Mechanics question | jmkupka | Softball | 16 | Mon May 12, 2008 10:18pm |
| A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
| Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
| Mechanics question | Adam | Basketball | 23 | Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:32am |