The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 08, 2008, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Mechanics Question

Doing a 12 U tourney game today.

I"m BU. Player hits shot down RF line , I hook inside and as batter runner is going around 1B the F3 backs into her. The pretty typical "I'm 12 and don't know what I'm doing move.". The BR gets splathered and I give the DDB signal and verbalize OBS. BR gets up and goes back to 1B. RF nows throws the ball into 2B....AT this point I call "Dead BAll" . I announce the BR is awarded 2B. And we go on.

Partner believes I should have waited to announce award till after ball is in the pitching circle. His thinking was the F4 could have throw the ball away and the player may have been able to advance to 3b etc. At the time I killed the play nothing was going on but does he have a point ?
I tried, a little anyway, to find something in the book about waiting till play was over but couldn't find anything...

What say you ?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-man Mechanics Question chuckfan1 Baseball 14 Tue May 20, 2008 10:26am
Mechanics question jmkupka Softball 16 Mon May 12, 2008 10:18pm
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Mechanics question Adam Basketball 23 Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1