![]() |
|
|
|||
Did you by chance see the play?
The runner, after overslidding first, lunged back toward the orange bag. She was lying on the ground with her hand on the orange bag, making no attempt whatsoever to reach the white portion. At that point, she was tagged. It looked to me like any effort to return was over by the time she was tagged. She just returned to the wrong bag. Definitely not an out under ASA rules, apparently an out under Little League rules. |
|
|||
No, just going on the play description here. I still think it is a stretch to call her in jeopardy after overrunning; put it back in those terms. A runner overruns first, heads back, and stops just short of the bag. When do you declare that runner in jeopardy,
Now, add to this case that she was stretched out (your description), and probably needed a moment to get back up. Is she in jeopardy?? Maybe, but very mucha stretch, in my mind (and not seeing the play).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
Suppose she had made NO effort to return? Suppose she had just lay there on the ground while she was tagged? IOW, how do you determine that she was finished returning, and is that question even relevant?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Here is the text of LL 7.15c:
"The BR must use the colored section on his/her first attempt to tag first base. [Except when the ball is hit to the outfield, no play at first, etc., etc., and then the BR may use either half.] Should, however, the BR reach and go beyond first base, he/she can only return to the white section of the base. Penalty: BR is out." In this play, I don't see the BR going beyond 1B if all she did was overrun/overslide. She certainly made no attempt to advance. I would not have an out on this, under LL rules or otherwise. Like Steve said, just a runner overrunning, then returning. |
|
|||
My first question on the 1B play would be is "oversliding" the same thing as "overrunning?" My first thought was that it is not, but I don't own a LL rule book. Can this be supported by rule? How about ASA? Occasionally I do see runners sliding into first, but this is the first time I've seen an overslide into first.
My second thought was that she had passed first, so it was one-big-bag and thus did not matter. But obviously that's an ASA rule and not LL. Big surprise there. ![]()
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
LLWS PU knocked over | yawetag | Baseball | 51 | Thu Aug 14, 2008 01:14am |
LLWS CA vs FL | dtwsd | Baseball | 29 | Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:53pm |
LLWS | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 6 | Fri Aug 26, 2005 12:03am |
Hotels for LLWS | BayouUmp | Baseball | 0 | Wed Mar 30, 2005 03:13pm |
question llws? | oatmealqueen | Baseball | 5 | Tue Aug 24, 2004 01:16pm |