The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   LLWS Girls (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/47186-llws-girls.html)

whiskers_ump Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:57pm

LLWS Girls
 
Did anyone see the shot in the 8th down the line, where the left field umpire
ran for his life looking towards the fence, then at the fence, turned and
signalled foul. His call was correct, but he never saw it.

S Carolina vs Purtorico 5-5 8th

BretMan Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:31am

Yep- saw it and thought the same thing.

How about the play where the kid slid across first base (touching the colored portion), went past the bag, reached back and touched the orange portion, then was tagged. The announcers were adamant that the runner should have been out because she did not return to the white portion of the bag.

Anybody know if that is a Little League interpretation? Do they not use the "one big bag after the initial play" interp, like ASA?

SethPDX Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:53am

I saw both those plays in person. I admit, I did chuckle a little on the hit down the line. And watching live I had no idea until now what the coach was asking about on the play at first.

Whoops. I was wrong. LL does require the runner to return to the white half. I would have missed this in one of my LL games.

The crews in both semis tonight looked good to me.

Final was SC 7, PR 6 in 10. Great game.

CajunNewBlue Wed Aug 13, 2008 07:50am

watched both games "central vs. east" and "south vs. latin america"
Loved the baseball mechanics (not!!)
And the right field umpire running out to right field and triple signaling no catch on a ball that was at least 5 feet away from the fielder...guess he needed his 15 seconds... sigh.
And the blown out call on the girl returning to second.(dude! she was so safe)
Also I guess taking off your mask on a snap throw to second and then back to home for a tag out at the plate ..is optional.
Athough the umpires had perfect mechanics during the chicken dance. IMHO.
Yes, I know its easy to critique umpires from the comfort of my sofa.... but I fully expect the same from them when its my turn. ;)

AtlUmpSteve Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan
Yep- saw it and thought the same thing.

How about the play where the kid slid across first base (touching the colored portion), went past the bag, reached back and touched the orange portion, then was tagged. The announcers were adamant that the runner should have been out because she did not return to the white portion of the bag.

Anybody know if that is a Little League interpretation? Do they not use the "one big bag after the initial play" interp, like ASA?

Regardless, I have a safe runner that legally overran (overslid) first base, made no attempt to second, and I am denying the appeal as she returns to the base (she just hasn't finished returning, yet). She was not in jeopardy when she was tagged, IMO.

BretMan Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:15am

Did you by chance see the play?

The runner, after overslidding first, lunged back toward the orange bag. She was lying on the ground with her hand on the orange bag, making no attempt whatsoever to reach the white portion. At that point, she was tagged.

It looked to me like any effort to return was over by the time she was tagged. She just returned to the wrong bag. Definitely not an out under ASA rules, apparently an out under Little League rules.

AtlUmpSteve Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:32am

No, just going on the play description here. I still think it is a stretch to call her in jeopardy after overrunning; put it back in those terms. A runner overruns first, heads back, and stops just short of the bag. When do you declare that runner in jeopardy,

Now, add to this case that she was stretched out (your description), and probably needed a moment to get back up. Is she in jeopardy?? Maybe, but very mucha stretch, in my mind (and not seeing the play).

Dakota Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan
...It looked to me like any effort to return was over by the time she was tagged...

I didn't see the play. Assuming there is no question that no try was made for 2B...

Suppose she had made NO effort to return? Suppose she had just lay there on the ground while she was tagged?

IOW, how do you determine that she was finished returning, and is that question even relevant?

SethPDX Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:51am

Here is the text of LL 7.15c:

"The BR must use the colored section on his/her first attempt to tag first base. [Except when the ball is hit to the outfield, no play at first, etc., etc., and then the BR may use either half.] Should, however, the BR reach and go beyond first base, he/she can only return to the white section of the base. Penalty: BR is out."

In this play, I don't see the BR going beyond 1B if all she did was overrun/overslide. She certainly made no attempt to advance. I would not have an out on this, under LL rules or otherwise. Like Steve said, just a runner overrunning, then returning.

JefferMC Wed Aug 13, 2008 03:17pm

My first question on the 1B play would be is "oversliding" the same thing as "overrunning?" My first thought was that it is not, but I don't own a LL rule book. Can this be supported by rule? How about ASA? Occasionally I do see runners sliding into first, but this is the first time I've seen an overslide into first.

My second thought was that she had passed first, so it was one-big-bag and thus did not matter. But obviously that's an ASA rule and not LL. Big surprise there.:rolleyes:

bigsig Wed Aug 13, 2008 07:04pm

And what's with the grass infield? Don't they have a real softball field in Portland?

bkbjones Wed Aug 13, 2008 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigsig
And what's with the grass infield? Don't they have a real softball field in Portland?

Yes, they have some fine fields. They play lots of REAL softball (ASA) on them.

IN ASA BLUE Wed Aug 13, 2008 08:15pm

In the South vs. East game on now, top of the 6th.
The 1BU made what I thought was a "pulled foot" signal, and then called the runner Out.
Mechanic was confusing to say the least...IMHO

whiskers_ump Wed Aug 13, 2008 08:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IN ASA BLUE
In the South vs. East game on now, top of the 6th.
The 1BU made what I thought was a "pulled foot" signal, and then called the runner Out.
Mechanic was confusing to say the least...IMHO


Saw that, and agree that it was a pulled foot. Why the out call not sure.

S, Carolina wins over New Jersey.

Welpe Wed Aug 13, 2008 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigsig
And what's with the grass infield? Don't they have a real softball field in Portland?

Pay back for all of the baseball that gets played on skinned infields?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1