The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Where is that written for a dead ball situation?
Huh. Apparently, it isn't. Touché.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Huh. Apparently, it isn't. Touché.
I found a rule for a live ball saying it is an out.

I find nothing in the book that says you have an out during this dead ball situation.

I do believe that you can't have an out during a dead ball situation with some exceptions (tag up, missed base on appeal). I don't see being assisted by a non-runner in that list of exceptions or dead ball appeals. Therefore you don't have an out.

If you don't have an out you have nothing.

End of Story

Not saying that this is morally correct outcome (allowing her to score) but I believe that would have to be the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
I found a rule for a live ball saying it is an out.

I find nothing in the book that says you have an out during this dead ball situation.

I do believe that you can't have an out during a dead ball situation with some exceptions (tag up, missed base on appeal). I don't see being assisted by a non-runner in that list of exceptions or dead ball appeals. Therefore you don't have an out.

If you don't have an out you have nothing.

End of Story

Not saying that this is morally correct outcome (allowing her to score) but I believe that would have to be the ruling.
Well, there are a number of rulings with which I disagree in principal, but they're there. Let's say I eject R1 for USC as she's coming home (for example, she yells "go f*** yourselves! We win!" to the other team). I have a problem with letting her score - I feel she should be out and ejected. Unfortunately, I'd have nothing backing me up to make this call other than principles (provided they have a sub available). But hey, dem's da breaks.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
OK, guys, time for some kind of resolution here.

"Common sense" says the BR is out for coach's assistance and that 2 runs score, since the BR could be appealed for the out.

But, the ASA rule on assisting a runner requires that the ball be live, so by the black-letter of the rule, there is no rule against a coach assisting a runner on an over the fence home run.

If I change the OP scenario slightly to have 2 outs before the play, then the answer matters A LOT!

So, which is it?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
OK, guys, time for some kind of resolution here.

"Common sense" says the BR is out for coach's assistance and that 2 runs score, since the BR could be appealed for the out.

But, the ASA rule on assisting a runner requires that the ball be live, so by the black-letter of the rule, there is no rule against a coach assisting a runner on an over the fence home run.

If I change the OP scenario slightly to have 2 outs before the play, then the answer matters A LOT!

So, which is it?
Dholloway1962 already gave us the answer in black and white. While I disagree with the rule, that IS the rule. Ball must be live for us to call a runner out for being physically assisted by anyone other than another offensive runner. So the second sitch brought up (going from no outs to 2 outs) has the same call because it's the same rule. We can't call the BR out for this, period.

At least, not until the rule changes.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Dholloway1962 already gave us the answer in black and white. While I disagree with the rule, that IS the rule. Ball must be live for us to call a runner out for being physically assisted by anyone other than another offensive runner. So the second sitch brought up (going from no outs to 2 outs) has the same call because it's the same rule. We can't call the BR out for this, period.

At least, not until the rule changes.
You know we all are going to be reading our books for 2-3 hours hoping to find something allowing us to call her out.

I wish us luck, but I would not count in it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Dholloway1962 already gave us the answer in black and white. While I disagree with the rule, that IS the rule. Ball must be live for us to call a runner out for being physically assisted by anyone other than another offensive runner. So the second sitch brought up (going from no outs to 2 outs) has the same call because it's the same rule. We can't call the BR out for this, period.

At least, not until the rule changes.
I threw a ball back into play as soon as that one went out?
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Remember, you are discussing FP and SP JO, Masters & Seniors only.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
Assisted dunk Mark Padgett Basketball 14 Mon Nov 20, 2006 03:02pm
Coach making contact with runner? fan Softball 1 Fri May 19, 2006 07:22am
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Balk, runner scores but sent back, and defensive coach argues Jim Dixon Baseball 6 Tue Jul 18, 2000 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1