The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
... with two outs, the BR (who has passed, but missed first base) is out fore the third out, but the runs still score in ASA. This is another case where the ASA ruling on fourth out appeals disadvantages the defense, as the defense cannot appeal the missed base by the BR who did not score (when called out after passing the base).
I think you are confusing an appeal for the third out with an appeal for an advantageous fourth out. The runs can be nullified in ASA with an appeal of the BR missing 1B for the 3rd out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I think you are confusing an appeal for the third out with an appeal for an advantageous fourth out. The runs can be nullified in ASA with an appeal of the BR missing 1B for the 3rd out.
But, Tom, that appeal would be for the fourth out. We are required to declare the out for assistance when it occurs (that is not an appeal, it is our call to make), and that (if it is with two outs) precedes the opportunity to appeal (which could not be made until all runners had completed their running responsibilities).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Here's a situation that was discussed this past weekend during umpire down time.

Bottom of the 7th. Home down by 1 run. No outs. R1 at 3B. R2 at 2B. Batter hits an over-the-fence home run. BR jubilant, jumping, hopping, etc., toward 1B and jumps over 1B (doesn't touch) and continues toward 2B. R1 has crossed home. 1B coach grabs BR and pulls her back to touch 1B.

Call? How many runs score?

ASA Rules.
Didn't I see this happen to Mark McGuire?

FP or SP?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Didn't I see this happen to Mark McGuire?

FP or SP?
Ha! Maybe..

Anyway, FP, but answer for both...
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
Since BR never reached 1st base before being called out due to interference....I have no runs scoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
I'm inclined to with...

Dead ball no interference.

I think about the helmet rule where on an over the fence home run the batter/runner can remove the helmet with no penalty. Why would it be different in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
Have not read anything yet.....

OK, I do not have a rule book in front of me, but I will read up latter.

Of the top of my head. Using the MLB rules, the same type of thing happened in the Mets playoff run a few years back. Game winning home run, with less then 2 outs and batter's run not mattering. They mobbed the runner before he made it to second. He was giving a single and called out.

Off the top of my head I can not see allowing the batter to score, and not calling her out.

Keep rules coming things, so it saves me some time, LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
For those who have the ASA Casebook/disc, (2007), you may want to check play 8.8-20(b) and a comment concerning when "dead ball" assistence can occur.

Base on that information, the BR is ruled out for assistence, all other runners score.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
For those who have the ASA Casebook/disc, (2007), you may want to check play 8.8-20(b) and a comment concerning when "dead ball" assistence can occur.

Base on that information, the BR is ruled out for assistence, all other runners score.
I don't have the 2007 Casebook. Could someone perhaps clarify?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
For those who have the ASA Casebook/disc, (2007), you may want to check play 8.8-20(b) and a comment concerning when "dead ball" assistence can occur.

Base on that information, the BR is ruled out for assistence, all other runners score.
I reviewed that case play, and as I read it, the coach's assistance happened before the ball became dead. Here is the case play:

Quote:
PLAY 8.8-20
With no outs and R1 on 3B, B2 hits a towering fly ball to left field. R1 is about ten feet down the line toward home and not returning to 3B to tag up. While the ball is still in flight, the coach at 3B assists by pushing R1 back to 3B. The ball (a) was dropped by F7, or (b) the ball goes over the left field fence in the air.
RULING: In both cases R1 is ruled out on runner assistance. In (a) the ball remains live. In (b) the ball becomes dead and B2 is awarded a home run. (8-7E)
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I reviewed that case play, and as I read it, the coach's assistance happened before the ball became dead. Here is the case play:
If that's the case play, then I don't see how it would apply to this situation. In case b, the ball was still live and in play, even though it was heading out of play.

Even if the ball is CLEARLY "on its way" to go out of play, it's still live. For all we know, a huge gust of wind could blow it back.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
Is a home run a dead ball????

Guys, I think we can say a home run ball is NOT a dead ball.

Lets look at 8.5.H-M. 8.5.H is our home run, it does not say the ball is dead. 8.5-I-M cover all other balls going out of play. The #1 thing they say in the effect is the ball is dead. Side note 8.6.I does not cover a home run since it only covers balls that "bounces over, rolls under or through (anything)" it does not come into effect here.

My question is why do we assume a home run is a dead ball? Trust me I think it is a interesting paradox. Since how can it be a live ball? But I think you can read it as a home run being a live ball and call the BR out for the coach assisting her.

There is another way to call the BR out
Call her out and go about your day. The winnings team's protest is "meaningless" 9.7.B

I have a question for everyone, If you see this happen tomorrow what do you call?

Any one ask ASA for a interpretation? I think it is a good one to ask for.

Last edited by snorman75; Tue Jul 15, 2008 at 06:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Dead Ball is a ball that is not in play. After the ball passes the top of the fence and contacts ground/building/wall or other object the ball becomes dead. The area outside the fences is Dead Ball Area. Once that ball gets there you have a dead ball.

Ok Snorman, I pose this question again. If the HR is not a dead ball, why is the runner or batter-runner not called out if they remove their helmet.

It is not an out. Nothing in the Rule Book supports an out call. If it happened today I would call nothing. If there is a protest I will win because I can show why it isn't an out. No other person can show why it is an out. If they can show me where in the book it constitutes an out I will jump on board. Just isn't there.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 18, 2008, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Well, there are a number of rulings with which I disagree in principal, but they're there. Let's say I eject R1 for USC as she's coming home (for example, she yells "go f*** yourselves! We win!" to the other team). I have a problem with letting her score - I feel she should be out and ejected. Unfortunately, I'd have nothing backing me up to make this call other than principles (provided they have a sub available). But hey, dem's da breaks.
__________________


In 2002 casebook there is a play where a batter hits a high fly thinks it is an out and angrliy throws bat against fence. Ruling is USC and no homerun but an out.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 18, 2008, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald
Well, there are a number of rulings with which I disagree in principal, but they're there. Let's say I eject R1 for USC as she's coming home (for example, she yells "go f*** yourselves! We win!" to the other team). I have a problem with letting her score - I feel she should be out and ejected. Unfortunately, I'd have nothing backing me up to make this call other than principles (provided they have a sub available). But hey, dem's da breaks.
__________________


In 2002 casebook there is a play where a batter hits a high fly thinks it is an out and angrliy throws bat against fence. Ruling is USC and no homerun but an out.
That was six years ago under a different regime, back when "Henry said" was considered valid documentation for any interpretation or ruling.

I submitted a rule change a few years back that would support the "out" for USC, but it was rejected. Presently, there is nothing to support such a ruling. I wait until the end of the play to eject a player, if necessary.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
Assisted dunk Mark Padgett Basketball 14 Mon Nov 20, 2006 03:02pm
Coach making contact with runner? fan Softball 1 Fri May 19, 2006 07:22am
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Balk, runner scores but sent back, and defensive coach argues Jim Dixon Baseball 6 Tue Jul 18, 2000 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1