The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2008, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
Let me see if I have this straight. It sounds like there is a consensus that R2 made it to 2B about the same time as the throw that was dropped (OP called it a bang-bang play), and that he touched the base. Sounds like there is consensus that he is safe at 2B due to the dropped ball by F4. Not stated in the OP but we might expect him to have been called safe. Therefore at this point, the force is no longer in place. Is that right so far?

Now, the only way the force can be reinstated (at least in the sitch provided) is for R2 to retreat towards 1B. Is that right?

If I am correct so far, then is the crux of the matter whether heading to the dugout is considered "retreating towards 1B?" If so then the force it reinstated and if not, he is simply liable to be put out the same as if he were safe at 2B then wandered off the base in any direction (as long as he is on the playing field)?
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2-2 Count Ump Steve Softball 8 Thu Apr 10, 2008 03:46pm
Should the run count? Jesse James Baseball 3 Thu Jul 28, 2005 09:35pm
Should it count? Ref in PA Basketball 25 Tue Dec 07, 2004 01:19pm
ten second count chas Basketball 8 Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:11am
25-second Count with 4-man Ed Hickland Football 10 Mon Aug 23, 2004 04:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1