![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
I don't understand why you think that the BR has to be touching first while F1 has the ball in the circle for LBR to apply. The rule lists several conditions that must be met and doesn't state an order or that they must occur simultaneously.
In fact, I have a hard time reconciling why they would put 8.7.T.3.d-e in the book if the conditions you describe must be met. I would have been squarely in your camp until I re-read the rule book and found these little ornery statements.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
BR overruns 1B, turns (whichever way, I don't care) and heads back to 1B, or angles toward 2B, whatever you want. AFTER the BR has made her turn and while she is moving toward one base or the other, THEN F1 receives the ball back in the circle. NOW you want to enforce the LBR based on which way the BR turned BEFORE the rule went into effect? Really? What if she heads back to 1B, then moves toward 2B, then heads back toward 1B, and then angles toward 2B again and THEN F1 gets the ball back. Which base, pray tell, is she now committed to under the LBR?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
RS 34 Paragraph G mentions Umpires judgement determines what committing to one base or another is on an overrun at first base. I think I need more info on the OP to make a call on that one. Might be one of those had to see it moments. Last edited by Dholloway1962; Thu Apr 03, 2008 at 10:01pm. |
|
|||
Bingo, bango, bongo, and all due respect to Mike, that is not what the rule book says. It says the rule is not in force when the runner is overrunning, turning, zigging and zagging.
The rule is too complex, besides. It offers no real advantage to the defense over the standard rule for runners. My point in all of this is the rule is obtuse, contradictory, and should be clarified, or even better, scrapped.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |