The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2007, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
As noted in a previous post, this is not clear. The reason I posted it was to create some serious discussion about a straight, no nonsense play and how the rules apply.

Because it is not clear, I have forwarded the play up the food chain. Don't know if there will be a response or clarification, but we can hope.

NOTE: This is not an ASA interpretation, but how I would rule on the play lacking any additional guidance from the upper rungs of the ladder.

On the play, if the defense's appeal came as a relatively immediate reaction to the BR's failure to touch the colored portion of the base, I would honor the appeal.

If the defense did not react in a timely fashion and, in my judgment, came more as an afterthought, I will consider the player now as a runner and entitled to utilize the entire 30"X15" base rendering any missed base appeal dead.

Can I back this up with 100%, black and white rule? Yes, but there is a contrary, yet still somewhat logical, argument within the rule to support someone to rule differently. This is what causes this comes under Rule 10.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2007, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Yes, but there is a contrary, yet still somewhat logical, argument within the rule to support someone to rule differently.
I always knew I was contrary, but it is nice to know I am also somewhat logical!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2007, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
As noted in a previous post, this is not clear. The reason I posted it was to create some serious discussion about a straight, no nonsense play and how the rules apply.

Because it is not clear, I have forwarded the play up the food chain. Don't know if there will be a response or clarification, but we can hope.

NOTE: This is not an ASA interpretation, but how I would rule on the play lacking any additional guidance from the upper rungs of the ladder.

On the play, if the defense's appeal came as a relatively immediate reaction to the BR's failure to touch the colored portion of the base, I would honor the appeal.

If the defense did not react in a timely fashion and, in my judgment, came more as an afterthought, I will consider the player now as a runner and entitled to utilize the entire 30"X15" base rendering any missed base appeal dead.

Can I back this up with 100%, black and white rule? Yes, but there is a contrary, yet still somewhat logical, argument within the rule to support someone to rule differently. This is what causes this comes under Rule 10.
So, at the end of the day, the OP author agrees that OP sitch calls for an out.

Good enough for me.

Either we have rules covering double bases or we dont.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 01:31am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Drank 2 beers with WBS tonight... asked him about this sitch.

His opinion:
Safe. No appeal granted.

His thought:
Runner passed the (safety) base. Assumed to have touched it. Now on white base. In that instance, that is the "return" allowed. She's standing on the base now. She's safe. No appeal allowed.

For those who don't know who WBS is, turn to Pg 198 of the ASA Umpire Edition.

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 06:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
Drank 2 beers with WBS tonight... asked him about this sitch.

His opinion:
Safe. No appeal granted.

His thought:
Runner passed the (safety) base. Assumed to have touched it. Now on white base. In that instance, that is the "return" allowed. She's standing on the base now. She's safe. No appeal allowed.

For those who don't know who WBS is, turn to Pg 198 of the ASA Umpire Edition.

Only one problem, the runner didn't pass the safety base. There was no return. The batter-runner never left the bag.

If that's what the national staff wants, then I'll call it that way, but I'm going to wait until there is an official statement from them or a rule change. Until then, I'm allowing the appeal, by rule.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
...If that's what the national staff wants, then I'll call it that way,....
Me, too (especially since it agrees with what I would have done anyway). But, even if it didn't, I'd call it the way they want it. I certainly hope this gets addressed, if only to bring this thread to a close (since the actual game situation rarely happens!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
... Until then, I'm allowing the appeal, by rule.
And, I'll not allow it, also by rule.

As an aside, it is nice to know that a member of the NUS is also contrary and somewhat logical!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Me, too (especially since it agrees with what I would have done anyway). But, even if it didn't, I'd call it the way they want it. I certainly hope this gets addressed, if only to bring this thread to a close (since the actual game situation rarely happens!) And, I'll not allow it, also by rule.

As an aside, it is nice to know that a member of the NUS is also contrary and somewhat logical!
Its ok, Dakota, to have a different opinion. And no one ever said you weren't logical. As a matter of fact, I said you had good arguments to back up your opinion. I believe you are logical, I just disagree with your position. I also believe my position is logical and backed by the rule book. We'll just have to wait to see how the NUS comes down on this and then call it that way the one time in our life time it happens.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I was just poking fun at Mike's last post, referring to my interpretation as "contrary and somewhat logical"...

All in good humor...
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I was just poking fun at Mike's last post, referring to my interpretation as "contrary and somewhat logical"...

All in good humor...
I figured as much, but just wanted to make sure you knew that I didn't think you were illogical.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
I figured as much, but just wanted to make sure you knew that I didn't think you were illogical.
Except ....
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.

BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.

Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?
As I previously noted, I sent this up the food chain. I received an answer from a deputy supervisor a couple weeks ago, but held off because this play was also posted on a local board.

The official ruling is that the runner is safe. The reason the runner is safe is because that player is no longer a batter-runner.

Runner - An offensive player who has reached first base and has not be put out.

The double-base rule only applies to the BR. Since the runner is permitted to use either portion of the base, there is no appeal as the runner is in contact with the base. IOW, unless the BR runs through the base, the defense has no possibility of an appeal.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Thanks for the followup, Mike. We all appreciate it.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
As I previously noted, I sent this up the food chain. I received an answer from a deputy supervisor a couple weeks ago, but held off because this play was also posted on a local board.

The official ruling is that the runner is safe. The reason the runner is safe is because that player is no longer a batter-runner.

Runner - An offensive player who has reached first base and has not be put out.

The double-base rule only applies to the BR. Since the runner is permitted to use either portion of the base, there is no appeal as the runner is in contact with the base. IOW, unless the BR runs through the base, the defense has no possibility of an appeal.
Now there is an interesting slant on this. I did a quick scan back through the thread and I didn't see any of us take the position that the BR was now a runner and therefore not subject to the safety base rule. Interesting.

And, thanks.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 03:44pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
As I previously noted, I sent this up the food chain. I received an answer from a deputy supervisor a couple weeks ago, but held off because this play was also posted on a local board.

The official ruling is that the runner is safe. The reason the runner is safe is because that player is no longer a batter-runner.

Runner - An offensive player who has reached first base and has not be put out.

The double-base rule only applies to the BR. Since the runner is permitted to use either portion of the base, there is no appeal as the runner is in contact with the base. IOW, unless the BR runs through the base, the defense has no possibility of an appeal.
Hmmmm.... while I agree, I think this could possibly lead to a wording change in 8.2.M.3-Effect...
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2007, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
I still disagree, although like other things with wrong interpretations, I have to call what the food chain says.

My disagreement is that the player is still a BR because of never "legally reaching" first base and therefore can not be reclassified as a runner who has.

What I would call is another matter, but other than ASA, if the fielder or DC presented this arguement, I would have to agree.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double base greymule Softball 3 Thu Jun 22, 2006 02:59pm
Double base Fed. Rachel Softball 13 Tue Apr 18, 2006 06:37pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
double base jggilliam Softball 10 Tue Jun 15, 2004 05:55pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1