Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA
Line drive to right field. F9 makes a play to 1B in an attempt to retire the BR.
BR slides (pop-up) into the white portion of 1B just beating the throw (There was no INT, so please don't raise the possibility). The BR makes no effort to touch the colored portion of the base.
Since there was a play at 1B from fair territory, the BR, by rule, is required to use the colored portion of the base. If F3 with ball in hand and touching 1B turns to you and states, "Blue, she never touched the right base" are you going to call the runner out for missing the base?
|
As I previously noted, I sent this up the food chain. I received an answer from a deputy supervisor a couple weeks ago, but held off because this play was also posted on a local board.
The official ruling is that the runner is safe. The reason the runner is safe is because that player is no longer a batter-runner.
Runner - An offensive player who has reached first base and has not be put out.
The double-base rule only applies to the BR. Since the runner is permitted to use either portion of the base, there is no appeal as the runner is in contact with the base. IOW, unless the BR runs through the base, the defense has no possibility of an appeal.