Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
Drank 2 beers with WBS tonight... asked him about this sitch.
His opinion:
Safe. No appeal granted.
His thought:
Runner passed the (safety) base. Assumed to have touched it. Now on white base. In that instance, that is the "return" allowed. She's standing on the base now. She's safe. No appeal allowed.
For those who don't know who WBS is, turn to Pg 198 of the ASA Umpire Edition.

|
Only one problem, the runner didn't pass the safety base. There was no return. The batter-runner never left the bag.
If that's what the national staff wants, then I'll call it that way, but I'm going to wait until there is an official statement from them or a rule change. Until then, I'm allowing the appeal, by rule.