The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2003, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
If a kid is standing on second and a line drive hits him, no intent to interfere with the fielders, is he out.


Rule 7.08 Seems to say no;

(b) He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball; A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.

While Jim Booth of Eteamz says;

If a runner is hit by a FAIR batted ball while he is in FAIR territory he is out with the above exceptions. This includes while he is standing on a base. The bases are in FAIR territory. If he is hit in fair territory, while on the base, before the ball has passed an infielder, he is out, except if he is hit by an infield-fly. If he is hit by a fair batted ball while he is in foul territory he is not out unless he intentionally interferes with the ball or a play.


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2003, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,073
Quote:
Originally posted by TyroneThunder
If a kid is standing on second and a line drive hits him, no intent to interfere with the fielders, is he out.


Rule 7.08 Seems to say no;

(b) He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball; A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.

While Jim Booth of Eteamz says;

If a runner is hit by a FAIR batted ball while he is in FAIR territory he is out with the above exceptions. This includes while he is standing on a base. The bases are in FAIR territory. If he is hit in fair territory, while on the base, before the ball has passed an infielder, he is out, except if he is hit by an infield-fly. If he is hit by a fair batted ball while he is in foul territory he is not out unless he intentionally interferes with the ball or a play.


The rule you quote talks about hindering the *fielder*; the play has the runner "hindering" *the ball*.

Instead of 7.08(b), try 7.08(f).

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1