![]() |
|
|
|||
Safe or out
This occurred in a men's SP softball game. Runner is going into third sliding. He realizes he is going in way too hard and grabs the base to hang on. His momentum causes the base to come dislodged and both he and the base end up in foul territory. He actually beat the throw, but the 3rd baseman kept his glove (with the ball) on the runner the whole time. In my opinion, he intentionally pulled the base off because he knew he was going to overslide it. HP umpire (it was his call) ruled him safe. It's been eating at me because I would have called him out. Had he not dislodged the base and held it going into foul territory, he would have been out. To avoid conflict with the HP umpire, I just kept quiet, but I'm really curious what the correct call should be. Every time you think you've seen it all somethig new comes up. Thanks.
![]() I must not have been clear in describing the play. I am certain that the runner INTENTIONALLY pulled the bag off when he realized he was going to overslide the base. It did not accidentally come dislodged. He hung on to it and pulled it off. Maybe he is still safe regardless, but had he NOT pulled it off and overslid the bag while the 3rd baseman had a glove on him, he would have been out. He basically extended 3rd base into foul territory. Not trying to seem airheaded, but with it being obviously intentional, I wondered what the rulilng should be. Last edited by kab9; Mon Aug 21, 2006 at 01:47pm. |
|
|||
Grabbing the base deliberately is not the same as removing it.
Runners beating the tag/ball to a base that is dislodged are considered safe. Offense, neat or not, is the purpose of SP, so safe. ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
What was his infraction? Excessive speed on a slide?
![]() Speaking ASA, a dislodged base is considered to have followed the runner (whether he hangs onto it or not). He was safe.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
8-8-N
"Runner is not out ...when the runner slides into a base and dislodges it from its proper position. The base is considered to have followed the runner." No inclusion of the word "unintentionally" in this rule, so runner is safe. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
How did you determine that he INTENTIONALLY pulled the base off? He was sliding but managed to INTENTIONALLY pull the bag off as he passed it? Now that's funny, I've heard something new today. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Out or safe? | JRSooner | Baseball | 5 | Sat Mar 27, 2004 11:24am |
Hit by ball out or safe | TyroneThunder | Baseball | 1 | Mon Jun 16, 2003 01:00pm |
safe/out...again! | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 4 | Mon Dec 16, 2002 06:14pm |
Safe or Out? | HawkandDove3B | Softball | 7 | Tue Jul 30, 2002 10:48pm |
Out or Safe? | Huskerblue | Baseball | 15 | Wed Jun 05, 2002 03:34pm |