The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Unfortunately, only a 2005 book is at-hand right now. Bear with me if I've listed the incorrect POE number.

Point of Emphasis #34 (2005) section E:

"A pitcher fielding a ball in the circle is just another fielder and runners can leave their base. If they leave their base, the same rule applies while the pitcher holds the ball in the circle; once the runner stops, they must decide which way to continue or be called out"

This passage kind of touches on the subject, but leads me to ask a question.

At what point on the described play does the "just another fielder" holding the ball in the circle magically transform into a "pitcher" holding the ball in the circle?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
F1 transitions from the role of fielder to the role of "pitcher with possession of the ball in the circle" when the play initiated by the batted ball being put into play is over.

The pitcher's circle is not a "stop" button. Runners may attempt to advance when the ball is put into play. On a caught fly ball, runners may tag up and attempt to advance. F1 cannot stop that by feigning indifference and hoping the "stop" button works. JMO.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
And my $.02 follows the thought process of the last few posts. The pitcher catching a line drive is a defensive player making a play; the fact that it is F1, and happens to be in the circle isn't an instantaneous transition to LBR status. Given that runners are 1) required to complete running responsibilities, and 2) allowed reaction time (subjective time based on age and level) to recognize that the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle, it is reasonable to allow any continuing play as a legitimate play.

To me the issue in the OP is how quickly the runner makes the transition. If the runner returns, tags, and immediately moves to 2nd, I have a continuing play, and don't believe that the reversal of direction (which is obviously required to advance) is a violation. If R1 returns, stops, looks, sees F1 ignoring her, and then takes off, I have a LBR violation. Obviously, as suggested in an other post, if F1 is making a play or faking a play on another runner, this is all a moot point (but giving the benefit of doubt to the original post, there can be no other runner in softball nomenclature if R1 is on first).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner catches throw Carl Childress Baseball 17 Tue Dec 06, 2005 06:29pm
Difficult Situation #2: Line Drive tipped foul by F5 tcannizzo Softball 8 Mon Sep 26, 2005 03:04pm
Reference, please, catches the tap assignmentmaker Basketball 9 Thu Mar 03, 2005 04:44pm
Catches at the fence WestMichBlue Softball 24 Thu Jun 26, 2003 01:59pm
membership drive johnfox General / Off-Topic 0 Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1