The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
safety bag and fair or foulball situation

We just had a game last night and a player's ball lined straight over the pink safety bag on first base, not the regular first base bag, which I assumed then it was a foul ball. The ump informed me that this year at his clinic 2006 they told him it is now in fair play territory. He let the fielder play the ball as fair and she stepped on one and then he proceeded to tell the batter she was out. I am inclined not to believe him. What is the correct answer?

Last edited by thunt; Thu Jun 01, 2006 at 01:21pm. Reason: word spelled wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunt
We just had a game last night and a player's ball lined straight over the pink safety bag on first base, not the regular first base bag, which I assumed then it was a fowl ball. The ump informed me that this year at his clinic 2006 they told him it is now in fair play territory. He let the fielder play the ball as fair and she stepped on one and then he proceeded to tell the batter she was out. I am inclined not to believe him. What is the correct answer?
I don't know if it is a "fowl" ball, but it was certainly a foul ball if it bounded by first base in foul (over the colored portion of the base) territory. The umpire was right about what clinics are teaching, just not in regard to which situation. The entire base is considered in fair territory once the runner has intially gained first base. In other words, the runner can run through the bag on the colored portion of the base, and return to the colored portion and be considered to be on base. Previously she had to return to the white side only.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
I don't know if it is a "fowl" ball, but it was certainly a foul ball
For some reason Randy Johnson comes to mind.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
I don't know if it is a "fowl" ball, but it was certainly a foul ball if it bounded by first base in foul (over the colored portion of the base) territory. The umpire was right about what clinics are teaching, just not in regard to which situation. The entire base is considered in fair territory once the runner has intially gained first base. In other words, the runner can run through the bag on the colored portion of the base, and return to the colored portion and be considered to be on base. Previously she had to return to the white side only.
Clarification: The double base is NEVER considered completely within fair territory. The colored portion will always be in foul territory.

The only change is that a RUNNER may use either portion to satisfy the rules which demand the runner contact the base.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 90
It becomes 1 big bag. The defense can use any part, like when they try to double up/appeal a runner for leaving early.
__________________
Joe Herzer
Dallas, TX DSUA

Last edited by rodan55; Thu Jun 01, 2006 at 10:03am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
The double base only applies to a BR reaching 1st. Other than that, it does not exist. The defense may use the safety/foul side only when the throw or play comes from that side attempting to put out a BR.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
The double base only applies to a BR reaching 1st. Other than that, it does not exist. ...
That used to be true, but ASA changed the rule this year so coaches and players will have one less thing they have to actually know about the game (JMO). It is now one big base after the BR reaches 1st. However, the orange part is still in foul territory for fair/foul call purposes.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Clarification: The double base is NEVER considered completely within fair territory. The colored portion will always be in foul territory.

The only change is that a RUNNER may use either portion to satisfy the rules which demand the runner contact the base.

What I meant, though not what I said. Thanks for the correction. I was typing that while I was sitting in an education seminar.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
What I meant, though not what I said. Thanks for the correction. I was typing that while I was sitting in an education seminar.
Please, you expect us to believe there are education seminars in Texas?

What are they teaching, how to dig a moat and fill it with 'gators?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 05, 2006, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Do we have an out...

...if the runner is standing only on the foul (coloured) portion of the double base (yes: ball in the circle, in possession of the pitcher, leaving the pitcher's hand, attempting to advance, etc. etc.).

You said 'NO' according a NEW Asa rule. Did I understand it right?

Thanks in advance.

Ciao
__________________
Antonella
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 05, 2006, 07:59am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonella
...if the runner is standing only on the foul (coloured) portion of the double base (yes: ball in the circle, in possession of the pitcher, leaving the pitcher's hand, attempting to advance, etc. etc.).

You said 'NO' according a NEW Asa rule. Did I understand it right?

Thanks in advance.

Ciao
Antonella,

Yes the rule was re-written for 2006. The easiest way to explain the changes are this;
The batter runner and fielder still have to use the bases as they always have on the initial run to first. After that;

Prior to 2006, the orange (saftey base) would "disappear";
In 2006, the orange base would now "turn white"

I still vote to get rid of it altogether!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 05, 2006, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Please, you expect us to believe there are education seminars in Texas?
Sure. Someone has to teach the kids of all those northern refugees.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
What are they teaching, how to dig a moat and fill it with 'gators?

For the past couple of years, a moat with water in it would be nice. Heck...we are so far in a drought that it ain't funny.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TB, Safety, or??? ljudge Football 9 Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:21pm
TD or Safety? chiefgil Football 3 Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:01am
Safety (try) cowbyfan1 Football 11 Mon Aug 30, 2004 05:56am
Safety? tchaap Football 5 Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:44am
Safety fjmeeksjr Football 15 Sat Nov 03, 2001 11:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1