The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
ASA Rules

R1 on 3B, 2 Outs.

D3K, F2 throws out BR at 1B.

While it doesnt affect the game because the BR was out, coach of D team comes out with rule book in hand and says BR cannot run to an unoccupied 1B on 2 outs on a D3K and reads me 8.1.B.

I simply told her she was incorrect and misreading it and left it at that. She didnt agree but accepted the decision. FED rules are written much clearer and case plays are clear on this, but after the game I was reading the rule and I do see how a coach could misinterpret this. At a minimum, at least a coach is trying to read the rules but how can it be explained?

Cite (paraphrased):

The batter becomes a BR
B. On F2 D3K when
1. There are fewer than two outs and first base in unoccupied at the time of the pitch, or
2. There are two outs and first basee is occupied. This is called the third strik rule.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally posted by wadeintothem
... coach of D team comes out with rule book in hand
I'm not sure what I would do... but I know how quick I would do it.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
The batter becomes a BR
B. On F2 D3K when
1. There are fewer than two outs and first base is unoccupied at the time of the pitch, or
2. There are two outs and first base is occupied. This is called the third strike rule.

R1 on 3B, 2 Outs.

D3K, F2 throws out BR at 1B.

While it doesnt affect the game because the BR was out, coach of D team comes out with rule book in hand and says BR cannot run to an unoccupied 1B on 2 outs on a D3K and reads me 8.1.B.

**(1)..If the coach cannot understand this rule, she's a moron, and needs reading comprehension help.
**(2)..Come onto my field with a rule book, and you're heading to the parking lot.

Bob



[Edited by bluezebra on Apr 24th, 2005 at 02:00 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Really?

Thats two blues in a row who would eject for that?

That never crossed my mind in all honesty. Not even when I wrote it here (although i probably should have anticipated it). Maybe the way I wrote it made it seem like she was aggressive and came rushing out or something, she wasnt.. just bringing out a rule book. She barely even slowed my sunflower seed refill during warm up pitches. I just told her and she left saying "I dont know about that" but didnt say another peep. I got no prob with that. Its not a judgement question, its a rules question and coaches are justified in asking those IMO.

I always get a kick on how quick on the trigger people are on the MBs. I wonder if they really are that quick in a game or if its a front.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally posted by wadeintothem
Thats two blues in a row who would eject for that?
Nope. I didn't say that.

I am not sure I would eject her. Probably, but not definitely. I cannot think of a case where a rulebook on the field would not be a case of a coach trying to show the umpire up. I've been umpiring since 1989 and have never had a rule book brought out on me.

Innocent or not, I do know that I would not allow the discussion to happen with her having a rule book. If I thought it was just a mistake, I would immediately warn her and send her back to the dugout to put the book up. If she wants to discuss it without the rule book, I'm good with that.

BTW... I seem to remember this rule being discussed previously on this board and I believe the wording is planning to be changed.

Also, BTW... Do you really think she had never been on a ball field in her life and didn't understand this misprint? Or do you suspect that she might have been trying to pick boogers?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Didn't we beat the crap out of this topic last year?

I submitted the change to correct the rule and was told it would be taken care of through housekeeping.

Through all the changes made, this change was omitted. I received an apology from some NUS members and was told it would be changed this coming fall. I will send them a reminder

BTW, the coach coming on to the field with the rule book is a dangerous proposition when done either PRIOR to questioning the umpire's ruling or in a manner which would project their presence on the field questioning an umpire's authority. They do that and they are most likely gone.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
OK mike.. thanks. I dont know, we've talked about D3K a million times but I didnt remember if this particular issue was resolved.



Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump
Quote:
Originally posted by wadeintothem
Thats two blues in a row who would eject for that?
Nope. I didn't say that.

I am not sure I would eject her. Probably, but not definitely. I cannot think of a case where a rulebook on the field would not be a case of a coach trying to show the umpire up. I've been umpiring since 1989 and have never had a rule book brought out on me.

Innocent or not, I do know that I would not allow the discussion to happen with her having a rule book. If I thought it was just a mistake, I would immediately warn her and send her back to the dugout to put the book up. If she wants to discuss it without the rule book, I'm good with that.

BTW... I seem to remember this rule being discussed previously on this board and I believe the wording is planning to be changed.

Also, BTW... Do you really think she had never been on a ball field in her life and didn't understand this misprint? Or do you suspect that she might have been trying to pick boogers?
hmmm I dont know.. I didnt think about it in terms you guys are but it is a different perspective... I just figured it was a coach who didnt know the rules.. but with the caveat that at a minimum, they picked a rule book up.

Its possible they were trying to show me up but like I said I didnt think about it that way as I was more than sure that this was a nonstarter debate. Dunno if I need to get meaner or not I just dont take things in that way I guess unless their attitude makes it clear that is what they are trying to do. I know the D3K rule so any debate is done before it even begins.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I submitted the change to correct the rule and was told it would be taken care of through housekeeping.

Through all the changes made, this change was omitted. I received an apology from some NUS members and was told it would be changed this coming fall. I will send them a reminder
Since I wasn't around last year and I am this year and I have my 2005 ASA Rule Book in hand... Is this rule, 8.1.B, that I'm currently looking at suppose to read differently????
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Dig on Fed's pretty friggin clearly written rule: (paraphrased but you'll still see the difference in the way its written)

8.1.1

Batter becomes a BR

When catcher fails to catch the 3rd strike before the ball touches the ground when fewer than 2 outs and 1B unooccupied at time of pitch or anytime there are 2 outs.

----------------------

Thats all you need to say about D3K.. ASA tries to get fancy with one of the oldest rules there is..
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Just Curious
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I submitted the change to correct the rule and was told it would be taken care of through housekeeping.

Through all the changes made, this change was omitted. I received an apology from some NUS members and was told it would be changed this coming fall. I will send them a reminder
Since I wasn't around last year and I am this year and I have my 2005 ASA Rule Book in hand... Is this rule, 8.1.B, that I'm currently looking at suppose to read differently????
Yes, it should just read:

2. There are two outs.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
If this coach was anything but a first year coach at 12U, she was attempting to get away with one, and further she was thinking she could put one over on YOU.

She, by demeanor or otherwise, would have to convince me that this was anything BUT trying to sneak one by the dumb umpire.

So, I would not be taking her too seriously.

I'm thinking it would go like this,

"No coach, the rule writers are not logic majors. It is a misprint."

(If the coach perists, and she is experienced or above 12U)

(ginnning)"C'mon, coach, let's play. I'm not falling for that."

(If she persists, further action is likely, maybe not ejection, but at least a serious-tone warning to return to her bench.)

With a newby coach, especially early in the year, this is a teachable moment, and that is the approach I would initially take.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1