The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
ASA Rules

R1 on 3B, 2 Outs.

D3K, F2 throws out BR at 1B.

While it doesnt affect the game because the BR was out, coach of D team comes out with rule book in hand and says BR cannot run to an unoccupied 1B on 2 outs on a D3K and reads me 8.1.B.

I simply told her she was incorrect and misreading it and left it at that. She didnt agree but accepted the decision. FED rules are written much clearer and case plays are clear on this, but after the game I was reading the rule and I do see how a coach could misinterpret this. At a minimum, at least a coach is trying to read the rules but how can it be explained?

Cite (paraphrased):

The batter becomes a BR
B. On F2 D3K when
1. There are fewer than two outs and first base in unoccupied at the time of the pitch, or
2. There are two outs and first basee is occupied. This is called the third strik rule.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1