The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Greene
Given the ASA/NCAA position, how do we rule on this?

Ground ball to F3 goes inside her jersey. F3 clutches the ball to her chest with her hand but not removing it from her jersey, and steps on 1st base.

Out as ball is grasped by her hand even though inside her jersey, or safe as the ball is not caught/held but lodged inside her uniform? (Personally I'd lean to not held securly until removed from uniform.)

MLB recently clairified their ruling on this, FED baseball has been clear for some time. I hadn't caught the difference until last week.

Roger Greene
[/B]
If the ball is live it is playable, so the question is whether the jersey between the ball and the hand prevents control. Is this different than a ball caught with the "bare" hand wearing a batting glove? However, "lodged in a defensive player's clothing" being in the book defines that as different, so I would say it is not the same as caught, therefore safe. Bet you could sell either side.
Does a "baseball" ruling really matter?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1