View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 11:43pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Getting back to serious discussion...

Speaking ASA...

Quote:
Rule 1 - DEFINITIONS - CATCH. A catch is a legally caught ball...
B. If the ball is merely held in the fielder's arm(s) or prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielder's body, equipment or clothing, the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder's hand(s) or glove. ...
F. An illegally caught ball occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than the hands(s) or glove in its proper place.
Until the fielder retrieves the ball out of her clothing and has it in her hand(s) or glove, it is not yet caught, it seems to me.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote