View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 09:51pm
Roger Greene Roger Greene is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
[QUOTE]Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
[.

[That's demonstrating control and voluntary release. I know this may be a stupid question, but does NFHS not recognize the throwing of a glove with the ball wedged in the webbing or fingers as a matter of control to put out a runner as long as the recepient controls them as a single unit?

[
I'm not aware of a FED softball rule that covers that,
but Fed baseball does. A batted ball that is lodged in any players (defensive or offensive) uniform or equipment is dead (5-1-1 f 5) and a pitch or thrown ball lodged with the umpire or F2 is dead (5-1-1 g 4). The rule doesn't speak to a thrown ball that lodges with any player other than F2, but I recall seeing an authoritive ruling that ruled that ball dead as well as any ball lodged with the umpire. MLB made a ruling in August of this year that a ball lodged in a player's uniform was to be ruled dead.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote