This siutation is a force play. IOW, the defense must have control of the ball (e.g. a legal catch / field of the ball) while tagging the base prior to the BR touching the base.
When the ball is inside the jersey, the umpire cannot see the ball
Since the rules are silent on the specific situation, following the normal practice is legitimate.
If the ball was inside the jersey only (i.e. no attempt to grasp the ball) there would be no control. That is clear.
So, the only issue is can the fielder demonstrate control with a hidden ball? I say no.
It is similar to a crash play at home with F2 making the tag and falling on top of her glove. She must come up with the ball still in the glove or no out. Reaching under her body with the other hand first - no out. Likewise, this fielder must be able to show the ball without help from the other hand.
[Edited by Dakota on Jan 30th, 2004 at 10:07 AM]
__________________
Tom
|