
Fri Jan 30, 2004, 10:12am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Greene
Yes Mike.
This play is Fed legend: (BASEBALL RULINGS ONLY)
Batter hits one hopper back to F1. The ball lodges in the webbing of F1's glove.
Fed ruling is the batted ball is dead, the batter is awarded 2nd base on a batted ball going out of play. (Don't tell me how unfair the ruling is, its the rule.)
OBR ruling is the ball is live and in play. F1 may tag 1st base or the runner and/or F1 may throw glove with lodged ball to F3, to record an out.
Same play, but ball goes inside the player's jersey. Fed ruling is the same, OBR as of last August states that the ball is dead, and the umpire places the runner(s) at the base he judges they would have reached. (no provisions for an out)
Roger Greene
|
Now, there's a switch. OBR falling closer to being inline with ASA than Fed.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|