View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2004, 10:31am
BigUmpJohn BigUmpJohn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 164
Hmmm... this is indeed a tough question, considering the multiple ways a rule can be interpreted. I do wish Fed would come up with some sort of case play on this.

One part of the Fed rule on a catch is 2-10-2 which states:

A ball prevented from hitting the ground by a player's equipment (providing it is in its proper place) or body shall not be ruled caught until the ball is securely held in the player's hand(s) or glove/mitt.

Rule 2-10-1c:

A catch shall not be credited if the fielder uses any part of her uniform that is displaced from its proper position.

From what I am gathering from these two rules is that, if the uniform is in its proper place/tucked in, and the fielder is showing the she has control of the ball in her hand, we have a catch. I've seen this play before in MLB, and the player was ruled to have possession. But that's baseball, who cares?

ON THE OTHER HAND...

2-10-1

In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder must hold the ball long enough to prove she has control of the ball and that her release of the ball is voluntary and intentional.

So, now that I've contradicted myself, this post is now useless. Sorry guys.
__________________
"If you want something that is fair in life, hit a ball between first and third base."
John Palko
Pittsburgh, PA
Reply With Quote